hello there.

I know it’s been a while since I’ve been on the blog, but life has been, well, a bit challenging, though not all in bad ways.

I’m working hard and crying less these days.

I have been keeping busy.  Partly so I don’t dwell on the things I cannot change, but also because I want some positive changes in my life.  I have to work a little bit to get there though.

I had been struggling emotionally for a number of years.  I loved my husband, but it also hurt to be with him.  And I was slowly dying inside, and this was before the bad stuff happened to us.

I’m trying to clear out a lot of things from the house, things that we’ve loved but outgrown, things we didn’t love so much but have held onto for various reasons.  We were supposed to have a town wide garage sale in the park a few blocks away, but it rained all morning and it was cold and miserable so I didn’t make it over.

I’m working really hard on the microbiology job.  Still working every other weekend (and 11-12 hours at that).  On the weekends I work, my husband has the girls, and the weekends I don’t work, I have them.

But once a week I have 24 hours to myself to do whatever I want.   The husband comes over to pick the girls up around 4 pm on Wednesday, they spend the night at his apartment, and they don’t come back home until after school on Thursday.  I don’t have work on Thursdays, so this is a blessing.  I usually tinker around the house or visit with my best gal pal.

A week ago on a Wednesday night, I went to visit a friend of mine in one of my favorite towns.  We had some really good Thai food.

We walked along the riverwalk with these wonderful covered pedestrian bridges.  That’s me in the picture below, smiling brightly.

 photo 11950937_1127921973903969_1938514623_n-002.jpg

We stopped to chat for a while by this pretty fountain.

 photo 11937894_10153754917754050_2015908587_n.jpg

And finished off the night with some wonderful gelato.

 photo 11986126_10153754917714050_1109869560_o.jpg

I never had gelato before, and it was pretty decent.   Like ice cream, but not.  Tastier, creamier, and a bit more sophisticated than American ice cream.

It’s definitely not a hard block sitting in a cardboard tub.

 photo 899058_10153754917449050_1952216575_o.jpg

I’ve decided that no matter how hard it is to be going through a separation and doing the single mom thing, I’m not going to sit and wallow and cry anymore. Life is way too short. I want to go on adventures, eat good food and meet new people to have great conversations with.

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to hello there.

  1. dweezer19 says:

    You can do this. Growth is painful in so many ways ; but I promise one day you will recall these memories with more clarity and less pain. Unless you don’t move forward. The only bad thing to do is to do nothing at all.. Enjoy the rest of your life. And try to saok up more moments with your children. Those are the ones you can never get back.

    • Casey says:

      Since I’ve posted, I’ve had some great moments, with my daughters, and with someone I really, really care about.

      I’m having some rough days at work and with my “ex” (not divorced just yet, can’t even afford to start the process right now).

      Thanks for your kind words.

  2. It is good to hear things are “happening” in your life. That always helps us to stay focused… and to cry a little less. Have a great weekend! 🙂

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

