Loving the woman I am becoming

I wanted to share a comment I wrote on one of my Facebook posts that really made me go…hmm, I’m loving the woman I am becoming.   A new-ish friend of mine seems very much like a kindred spirit, and she said,

Don’t worry about living the way other people want you to.
They don’t live in your head.

If people don’t love you for living your life in your own way, maybe they shouldn’t be in your life.

You also have to be okay with embracing all that happens in your life.

When you live big, both the good and the bad experiences can be huge.

While, of course, I wish that I didn’t have to live with the negative, I can respect that every person and every situation taught me something. I wouldn’t change a moment of my life.

and this is my response to her, which I thought was worth sharing here:

I’ve grown enough to be past worrying about what other people think of how I live my life.

Living big – I get that. I would not settle for an ordinary life. Living small was never an option for me.

I’ve limited contact with people who disapproved of me. I’ve found my Self and who I am reflected in good works of literature and realized I’m not the terrible person people thought I was for being fiercely independent, for wanting to create a beautiful, magical life full of lovely experiences – and a few poignantly hard experiences too.

I got a letter once from my grandfather where he said that I was incorrigible. I used to think that was a horrible thing to be. Now I consider it a great compliment.

Now, as I’m growing in consciousness, I’m realizing that there is nothing under the sun that is truly “bad”. There are simply lessons to be learned. And I learned a whole LOT more about my Self and human nature through my mistakes than I have through my successes.

And as I continue to grow, I realize my top priority in life is to love and love well; to bring magic into the ordinary moments of my life; to share what I can of my life, my creative expression, and my dream-weaving magic with others.

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

