In gratitude to my best friend.

 photo DSC_3856.jpg

*

Let me just say that spending the day with my friend and 4 of our daughters (his two and my younger two) was one of my happiest days on record.

*

 photo DSC_4251.jpg

My best friend is one of the best children’s storytellers around.  A *big kid* himself, his energy and engaging personality just warms my heart.

*

I wanted to take the time to give a special thank you to my best friend in the whole wide world who has been, very tragically, transported to another dimension. I can’t see him, I can’t talk to him, but I can feel him.

[Let me clarify:  My friend is not dead.  His wife won’t let me see him anymore.  He is a big Dr. Who fan…so my reference to being transported to another dimension has to do with the fact that she’s not letting us be friends anymore.]

He was there for me when I was helping my stepmother care for my father before he died. He was holding my hand across 1000 miles, and though he didn’t know it at the time, he kept my heart from breaking into a zillion pieces.

Since that time, he’d shown me acceptance, compassion, understanding and joy. He reminded me of the unbridled exuberance and innocence of childhood and we shared moments of pure joy together.

He brought me new friends, for which I’m very, very grateful.

Though he can’t hear me, and can’t see me, I hope one day he’ll know how much he’s touched my life. How much his kindness and his goodness meant to me, after so much sorrow and pain.

To my best friend, I love you.

Always.

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In gratitude to my best friend.

  1. I am sorry to hear that you lost your friend. He seemed to embrace life there.

    How are you doing, Casey? I was thinking about you the other day. I hope things have been turning around for you, my friend 🙂

    Blessings

    Paul

    • Casey says:

      Paul,

      I realized (too late) that what I said could be taken for the fact that my friend is dead, In fact, he’s very much alive. I want to make that clear.

      I am not allowed to see him anymore. His wife had me banished from his life. The ‘transported to another dimension’ was a nod to my friend’s favorite program, Dr. Who.

      Because trust me, if my friend had died, I know I’d spend so much more time on a memorial tribute to him than this. 😉

      How am I doing? Well, Paul, thank you for asking. I think that actually deserves a post of it’s own. You really want to know? Because I actually want to tell you.

      I think about you, too, and my other blogging friends. I’ve missed my online connections, very much. I’ve gained a lot of wisdom from the blogging friends I’ve made. Helps keep me focused on what I want more of in my life.

      Blessings right back at ya, my friend.

      I hope your Day of Thanks was a wonderful one.

      I’ll be back shortly with a new post to answer your question.

      Be well, my friend.

  2. The Stoics believed that we should treat everyone dear to us as if they have just been lent to us for a short time. That way we appreciate every moment with them and, if for some reason they are taken away from us, we have no regrets about our time spent with them.

    • Casey says:

      I agree, completely Malcolm. That’s been my philosophy all along – to be good to the people I come in contact with, because I never know which stranger who comes along my path will become a friend. And those that do become my friends, I treat them as if they are more precious than gold, because, they are.

      All the best this holiday season.

      =)

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

