University of Chicago

I just adore the University of Chicago campus and love exploring it and taking pictures.

 photo DSC_4603.jpg

*

 photo DSC_4607-001.jpg

*

 photo DSC_4608.jpg

*

 photo DSC_4613.jpg

Sometimes I feel like I’m transported to another world or another time.

 photo DSC_4628.jpg

*

 photo DSC_4614.jpg

*

 photo DSC_4618.jpg

*

 photo DSC_4624-001.jpg

*

 photo DSC_4625.jpg

The architecture is stunning.

 photo DSC_4631.jpg

*

 photo DSC_4635.jpg

Frank Lloyd Wright’s Robie House

 photo DSC_4644.jpg

*

 photo DSC_4647.jpg

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to University of Chicago

  1. ksbeth says:

    i love this magical place too, my daughter went to school here and i was stunned the first time we saw it in person. never got over it. )

    • Casey says:

      i know, right?

      what did your daughter study while she was here?

      my grandfather, uncle and brother attended the U of C. i was almost going to attend, but my mother was going to make me commute from home. i got accepted, but i turned it down, because i was afraid i couldn’t keep up with the workload and live at home, where my parents were fighting all the time and i spent a lot of time trying to protect my younger brother and sister. sometimes i feel sad about that, but i knew it was the right thing to do at the time. and, in hindsight, if i had, i never would have met my husband and had my daughters.

      though, i’m happy to say that 10 years after I turned them down, i ended up working for the university for 3.5 years. i worked in the hospital, but my salary was paid for by the university. i still have my photo id tag with my picture and University of Chicago on it. I feel quite proud of that accomplishment. and a little sad i gave it up to be a stay at home mom (but i am still glad i did).

      • ksbeth says:

        she studied languages there and it was special on so many levels. how wonderful that your family went there and i understand your reasons for not going. i think everything happens for a reason. ironic that you ended up working for them, and i think you made the right choice, one you won’t regret looking back. your family is only young for a short while and the school will always be there if you still want to be involved with them. –

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

