On wolves and wisdom

One of my favorite teachers is Jungian analyst and cantadora Clarissa Pinkola Estes.  I wrote about her influence on my life before.  I wanted to share more of her wisdom in this post, primarily because I recently visited a wolf conservatory.  I thought I’d share some of my favorite quotes along with the best photos I’d taken at Wolf Park in Battle Ground, Indiana.

****

“I hope you will go out and let stories, that is life, happen to you, and that you will work with these stories… water them with your blood and tears and your laughter till they bloom, till you yourself burst into bloom.”

Clarissa Pinkola Estes – The Woman Who Runs with the Wolves

 photo DSC_3186.jpg

“Though fairy tales end after ten pages, our lives do not. We are multi-volume sets. In our lives, even though one episode amounts to a crash and burn, there is always another episode awaiting us and then another. There are always more opportunities to get it right, to fashion our lives in the ways we deserve to have them. Don’t waste your time hating a failure. Failure is a greater teacher than success.”

Clarissa Pinkola Estes – The Woman Who Runs with the Wolves

 photo DSC_3193.jpg

“Having a lover/friend who regards you as a living growing criatura, being, just as much as the tree from the ground, or a ficus in the house, or a rose garden out in the side yard… having a lover and friends who look at you as a true living breathing entity, one that is human but made of very fine and moist and magical things as well… a lover and friends who support the criatura in you… these are the people you are looking for. They will be the friends of your soul for life. Mindful choosing of friends and lovers, not to mention teachers, is critical to remaining conscious, remaining intuitive, remaining in charge of the fiery light that sees and knows.”

~Clarissa Pinkola Estes, The Woman Who Runs with the Wolves

 photo DSC_3280.jpg

“Be wild; that is how to clear the river. The river does not flow in polluted, we manage that. The river does not dry up, we block it. If we want to allow it its freedom, we have to allow our ideational lives to be let loose, to stream, letting anything come, initially censoring nothing. That is creative life. It is made up of divine paradox. To create one must be willing to be stone stupid, to sit upon a throne on top of a jackass and spill rubies from one’s mouth. Then the river will flow, then we can stand in the stream of it raining down.”

~ Clarissa Pinkola Estes – The Woman Who Runs with the Wolves

 photo DSC_3283.jpg

“In mythos and fairy tales, deities and other great spirits test the hearts of humans by showing up in various forms that disguise their divinity. They show up in robes, rags, silver sashes, or with muddy feet. They show up with skin dark as old wood, or in scales made of rose petal, as a frail child, as a lime-yellow old woman, as a man who cannot speak, or as an animal who can. The great powers are testing to see if humans have yet learned to recognize the greatness of soul in all its varying forms.”

~ Clarissa Pinkola Estes – The Woman Who Runs with the Wolves

 photo DSC_3304.jpg

It is worse to stay where one does not belong at all than to wander about lost for a while and looking for the psychic and soulful kinship one requires.

~Clarissa Pinkola Estes

 

I have to agree, whole-heartedly, with Estes.  Some of you know some of the chapters of my life.  Some of them have been devastatingly hard.  But I know, without a doubt, the story has not ended.  I am actively creating a new reality, and bringing in creative friends who support the criatura in me.  I’m in love with Nature, and Life, and looking at my hard experiences not as failures, but as events challenging me to grow.  I choose to look at all I’ve experienced through the lens of Love.

I know, without a doubt, the Universe has my back.  It brings me experiences I may not always relish, but that I have needed to grow my soul.

Soon, dear friends, I’ll tell you about one of the most beautiful days I’d had in recent years.  I cannot even begin to describe the joy I felt, but I sure will try when I’m ready to post those pictures.

In the meantime, I just wanted to say, I LOVE YOU ALL!

 

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in A Lamp In the Darkness, Affirmations, C.G. Jung, Clarissa Pinkola Estes, Connection, Creating a Life, Creativity, Nature, photography. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to On wolves and wisdom

  1. shoe1000 says:

    Thanks for the introduction to a wonder full lady!

    • Casey says:

      You are very welcome, Jim. She’s my personal favorite, but maybe that’s because I’m a woman and there’s lovely stuff in there for women, things that, while a man can understand and have sympathy for, can’t quite experience in the same ways. I’ve gotten a lot of good wisdom from men, but I appreciate the feminine wisdom that she brings to the table and how she’s interpreted Jung’s ideas in her unique way.

  2. One of my top favorite books, and I’ve read thousands 🙂

  3. Dina says:

    Beautiful post with wise words. She’s just amazing, and if you can find her Audio work, it’s all very inspirational. Lots of messages there for me… so, thanks for sharing.

  4. ptero9 says:

    Hi Casey,

    Although I read the book years ago, I have fond memories of her wisdom.

    Thank you for posting the quotes and I glad to see you back here.

    As Ian Anderson says, life is a long song.

    Xxx
    Debra

    • Casey says:

      Debra,
      I’m so glad you enjoyed her writings. She’s got such poetry weaved into her wisdom and I just love it.

      You are so welcome for the quotes. I could have written this post with my own narrative, but the wolves always makes me think of Estes, and sure enough, I found some beautiful quotes handy. They’ve encouraged me, and I am sure they will encourage others in their journeys.

      I’m glad to be back. It feels good to come ‘home’.

      XOXO,

      Casey

  5. Thanks for this recommendation. I will be catching up with Clarissa’s work!

  6. Love this:
    “I am actively creating a new reality”

    You sing alit with hopeful joy. This place is so beautiful. Thanks.

    Diana

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

