How we approach death

I wanted to share something from the little booklet on dying from hospice care.  Its called Gone From My Sight  by Barbara Karnes, RN.  I thought it was lovely.
*
“How we approach death is going to depend upon our fear of life, how much we participated in that life, and how willing we are to let go of this expression to venture into a new one.  Fear and unfinished business are two big factors in determining how much resistance we put into meeting death.
The separation becomes complete when breathing stops.  What appears to be the last breath is often followed by one or two long spaced breaths and then the physical body is empty.  The owner is no longer in need of a heavy, nonfunctioning vehicle.
They have entered into a new city, a new life.”
*
I’ve always wanted to be a full participant in this life.  It’s part of the reason I don’t hold my affections back, even if it has ended up in heartbreak at times.
About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Death, Grief and Loss and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How we approach death

  1. Beautiful quote there. I love that description of the transition…not needing that heavy body / vehicle.

    Hope you are well.

    • Casey says:

      Me too, Paul.

      Things are fairly quiet here.

      My dad is sleeping a lot (he’s heavily medicated right now), but we do get a chance to say we love each other fairly often. Sometimes he says something funny.

      My stepmother and I talk…she gets out a little bit to take care of some things. She brought pictures over from my dad’s house (they lived separately for a long while). And I got to take pictures of the pictures. And there was a letter I sent years and years ago to them…so it’s been good.

      I’ve gotten out a few times. I visited the Pueblo Dam/reservoir at the State Park and I have some lovely photos of that and the river and a Horned Owl.

      I got out yesterday to visit the Pueblo Art District and historic Riverwalk, where my husband and daughters and I visited four years ago. I brought Dexter, my stuffed teddy bear who is my traveling companion. He’s a great pal, because people look at him and smile at me. Sometimes they ask me about him. It’s been nice.

      I talk to my girls and husband every day. They are keeping busy, but it’s not easy to be away from mom. At least my littlest one had her classroom chicks hatch this week, so she had something cuddly to look forward to everyday.

      I got the chance to talk to my stepmother’s sister yesterday. That was nice, too. And she watched the video my girls made for my father that I brought here.

      I’m glad I came.

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

