Spring Break at the Arboretum

Our Midwest winter lingered forever.  Most of the spring break was rainy or overcast and we didn’t go anywhere except to a children’s museum and the arboretum.  We finally had a beautiful spring day yesterday.

This is the children’s garden, not yet planted, but they have animals – chickens, goats and pigs.

 

 photo P1240603.jpg

These beds will be planted soon.

 photo P1240604.jpg

Behind the children’s garden, they have outdoor musical instruments.  It’s really wonderful that they have this hands on exhibit surrounded by the trees.

 photo P1240620.jpg

The girls got some much needed climbing in.

 photo P1240680.jpg

And they even had a snowball fight with dad.

 photo P1240654.jpg

Even though it was a 60 degree day, the ponds were still partially frozen.  We stopped and had a snack.

 photo P1240730.jpg

And we watched a Canadian goose make its way over the ice to the water

 photo P1240736.jpg

At least until the ice got too thin and he fell straight through.  Plop.

 photo P1240739.jpg

It was funny to watch him make his way out.

 photo P1240740.jpg

But he did make it.

 photo P1240741.jpg

We walked along the pond.

 photo P1240748.jpg

And stopped on the bridge for a quick picture.

 photo P1240754.jpg

In the summer months, this pond turns green with algae and it’s home to a lot of frogs.

 photo P1240758.jpg

A little tired, but happy to have been outdoors without winter coats, we headed home.  My youngest said, “Mom, I’m SO glad we came out today”.

 photo P1240760-001.jpg

 

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Nature, photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring Break at the Arboretum

  1. Casey, I have to confess I am a little ashamed of myself. It has been weeks now since I told you I would be commenting again soon. You have left such long and deeply moving comments for me and Plutonia, and I (who am responsible for most of our English content) seem to have disappeared. Please know that out of sight is not out of mind in my case. The stories of yours I have already read and our spiritual kindredship have gotten me more and more inspired and soaring to heights that kept my words and worlds unfolding until that was no comment I could leave under any of your posts anymore. So, for the time being, allow me to invite you to our place for what has become an article in its own merit.
    Blessings and love,
    Leon

    • Casey says:

      Thank you so much. Soon you will see, if you hadn’t already, my comment on your blog.

      I’m so touched. And, as you might understand, after reading today’s post, why reading your blog post was so meaningful to me. I’m struggling a bit today to keep the faith when I struggle so much with loneliness and isolation. I know it’s not me…but other people who have a hard time with being genuine, loving, and connected.

      And as Jiddu Krishamurti has said, “It is no measure of health to be well-adjusted to a profoundly sick society.”

      But because of that…we spend our lives isolated and struggling.

      I need to go out today into the world. I’m still reeling in a lot of pain, and I need to get out of the house for a bit.

      Thank you so, so much for your lovely letter. I’m going to print it out and keep it in my healing notebook – things I’m collecting for myself to lift me up.

      Be blessed,

      Casey

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

