Always delighted for the visit

Youngest daughter noticed there were mourning doves perched on our deck this morning.

 photo 1-P1240131.jpg

I was very glad that they are incredibly calm birds because they didn’t fly off when I opened up the window and the screen to take some pictures.

 photo 1-P1240132.jpg

Despite the cold, they don’t seem to migrate south around here.  I’m glad for the birds that stay around.  It is delightful to be paid a visit from my feathered friends.

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Birds, Nature, photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Always delighted for the visit

  1. thorns4roses says:

    I agree and have been feeding the birds thru this harshest of winters ever in Indiana. A couple of hours ago, I looked out and there was something sitting below the bird-feeder in the snow and I thought…”oh, a bunny-rabbit or a cat.” No, it was a huge bird…did research and found one all brownish-colored eagle (without the white head) but the beak didn’t look like an eagle. I am so excited as got a few pix of it but had to tap on the window to get a side-view….still don’t know what it was but it was HUGE! It definitely was my Thursday blessing (smile). Have a terrific Valentine’s Day and thanks for the post about the doves. I have some good pix of them too at a bird pool.

    • Casey says:

      I hope you post pix. I love birds of all kinds. I haven’t seen an eagle, but I see a lot of hawks around here.and I get lucky sometimes and see White Egrets and Blue Herons. Those are massive birds.

      One of my favorite walks around the local park with youngest dd and a White Egret

      https://thesprightlywriter.wordpress.com/2013/06/30/bird-walk/

      I’m in Indiana too. How neat. Which part do you live?

      • thorns4roses says:

        Northern Indiana….Fort Wayne. The pix I took were mostly from the backside of this huge bird and no photography thru a glass could help describe how huge it was, especially when it looked like a big cat or a rabbit from behind…that’s pretty big. I should have stepped outside because big birds are bold but it did fly away when a school bus came down the street. I’m still EXCITED but don’t want it to get my little ones. I pray about that everyday because it’s disturbing to go out to find blood and feathers all over. Take care and keep looking up!!!

  2. thorns4roses says:

    oh and awesome, awesome pictures! I was just too excited about my recent visit from whatever huge bird it might have been!

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

