New year, new clarity, new goal

In the year 2014, I’m going to continue to express from the heart while refining my writing.

I wanted to share my new “about this blog” page here.  It was written originally as a response to a blog post over at Holistic Wayfarer about How to Succeed as a Blogger.  I realized in the process, I wrote a summary of what this blog is about.

But not just a summary about this blog, it fits a larger perspective.  It’s not simply a description of what this blog is about, but it’s a vision I have in mind for my life as well.

I wanted to share it for my current readers, who may not realize I updated my “about this blog” page.

Between the brackets was what was already on my page, and what came after is what I wrote on her post:

[I sometimes wonder just what the common theme is to this blog, and I bet you do too.  I thought it was time to write an “about this blog” page.

A commenter seemed to summarize this blog thusly:

“Yours is a remarkable set of fascinating and thoughtful ramblings that- at least for me- are tied together by a thread – the idea of struggling to make our way in a world that often seems alien to us.”

I agree, even if I can’t quite be sure my ramblings are remarkable, though. I sometimes think I just write to learn about myself.  Sometimes I see facets of myself in what I read and so I’ll ramble on about them, however obscure they might be.

This blog is multifaceted, just like I am.]

When I started, I wasn’t trying to attract a readership at all. As a woman who left the STEM field to raise my daughters, I needed a place for myself to express myself, particularly since I left all the intellectual stimulation I had at work when I decided to stay home.

I went through a very long period of darkness, but I wanted to write to find the silver lining. I wanted to write for myself.  Like Mark Twain, I processed my life through writing. In the absence of intellectual peers in my little slice of American suburbia, I write about my favorite ideas about philosophy and literature. I tried to weave my love of certain ideas into my own life. And, inevitably, as life would have it, my husband and I and children experienced some difficult struggles (and a lot of deaths). My writing evolved to include my thoughts on grief and trauma, existential depression and reuniting the life of the mind with the life of the body and deepening the connections that we have with other human beings.

For me, instead of merely being a chronicle of pain, my blogging journey has been a deeply personal and spiritual and transformative one. I’m autodidactic by nature, and so I set my skills to research what it means to be fully human. And I’ve wanted to share some of my lessons with others (all the while knowing each of us must find their own unique path). As Nietzsche stated so long ago, “That which does not kill us makes us stronger”; however, rather than being a reason to armor my heart, I used my experiences to break it open, to soften it, to nurture a compassion for myself and others.

I’m finding that the process of writing IS a kind of meditation, for me.

I’ve picked up some wisdom along the way from other spiritual teachers. One of my favorites is Osho, who said:

“A really spiritual person will live life as an art, will create a deep harmony between the body and the consciousness. And this is the greatest art there is. His life will be a joy to see. And he will be fragrant, for the sheer reason that there is no split in his being. The very unity makes him organic; the wound of division is healed.”

That’s the ultimate goal for me. I don’t wish to attract an audience as much as I want to leave a trail where others struggling with splits in their beings may begin to heal. If I attract an audience along with it, that’s nice, but not imperative.

I want others to know peace and be able to find the internal harmony that makes Life worth living.  I hope I can help them discover for themselves a way that helps them heal.

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in A Lamp In the Darkness, adult survivors of abuse, Art, Being Genuine, Compassion, Complex-PTSD, Congruent Living, Connection, Creating a Life, Death, Enlightenment, existential depression, Friendship, Healing Through the Arts, Highly Sensitive Person, Hope, Making meaning and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

