Okay 2014, bring it on!

I’ve been already blessed this second day of 2014.

I have a package coming from a the wilds of Maine…a dear internet friend of mine sent me a handmade gift and I’m as excited as a little girl on her birthday.   And I received a beautiful, life-affirming email letter from him, for which I’m terribly grateful.

A dear blogging friend contacted me to inquire if I was all right, having noticed a few particularly poignant posts.

I’ve been moved more deeply than I thought I would by the 1994 version of the movie Little Women (the one with Winona Ryder in it) and was tickled pink that my daughters wanted to watch it not just once, but 3 times.  I guess it was THAT good for them.

I’ve made the acquaintance of an amazing blogger Holistic Wayfarer…just today, a day after I posted about the kind of people I want to surround myself with.  I’m positively delighted with the content of her blog and the light in her soul.  There’s so few people I’d been able to say they exemplify the kind of thing I want more of in my life.

I had a beautiful night with my husband last night.

We didn’t do anything special.  After the girls went to bed, we watched the movie, Girl with a Pearl Earring, a story based on the painting by the artist Johannes Vermeer.  I have been particularly fond of that painting and I enjoyed the movie – the gentle intensity of it; the hint of sexual energy without exploiting it for profit; the enraged wife, and the tender denouement.

And then we retired to bed.   I enjoyed the warm cocoon of our bed with our new polar fleece sheets.  I snuggled in close to my husband, draped my arm over his chest, my leg over his, and I held his hand on his chest. My husband’s breathing slowed and deepened and I felt a deep sense of gratitude to still be with this man I call my husband.

I realized how blessed I am.  Truly, amazingly blessed to have that man as my husband. Yes, even as close as we had been to divorce not too long ago.

We’ve had inordinate challenges in our life together.  And some amazing blessings together, too.

I was just able to articulate the blessing just a moment ago, to a new blogging friend:

Nietzsche once said, “That which does not kill us makes us stronger”.

I’m learning that for many of us on spiritual paths, it’s the traumas themselves that break open our hearts and helps us shed our old conditioned patterns of being so that we may be who we truly are. An inner solidness comes from knowing we are not what we do or what happens to us. We are not our successes, and we are not our mistakes. Our lives include both, but we don’t identify by either one. This is how we can remain flexible and open and resilient to whatever comes our way.

What helped me though is finding wise spiritual elders who’ve walked the path ahead of me and could share these teachings that I never learned in any conventional education.

I look forward to experiencing how the year 2014 unfolds.  I look forward to the trials, the delights, the sorrows, the adventures, the treasures of joy and pain…I can hardly contain my enthusiasm for the lessons I might be blessed with.

I don’t know about you, but I’m going to stop resisting, and I’m going to say yes…to Life!

Peace and Joy, my friends.

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Joy, Personal growth, Radical Acceptance, Seeking the sacred, spirituality, The Unbearable Lightness of Being, The Untethered Soul and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Okay 2014, bring it on!

    • Casey says:

      Ah…I’m caught, my wandering atavist friend. This is what I was doing instead of writing you back. I got sidetracked for a goodly long while by talking to Holistic Wanderer. I’d encourage you to check out some of her writings. Good stuff there.

      I have to postpone that letter for a while, I have some things to take care of here…

      Hugs,

      Casey

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

