Winter wonder

I dressed warmly and headed out on this 15 degree day on the 12th of December in the year 2013 and risked frostbite to take some photographs.

Come, take a walk with me…we’ll talk, and laugh, and sigh…just like old times.

*

Every time I see this swing, I remember the conversation I had with an elderly gentlemen who was sitting there one spring day.  Two strangers connected for a moment in time by our love of nature.

 photo DSC_0895-002.jpg

The clouds in the sky looked a lot like a blanket of snow.

 photo DSC_0897-001.jpg

It was so hard not to want to walk on the frozen pond, but the ice is not thick enough to support people.

 photo DSC_0898.jpg

The sky was a lovely shade of blue today.

 photo DSC_0904.jpg

It was chilly to walk around the pond, but I made it happen anyway.

 photo DSC_0906.jpg

*

 photo DSC_0909.jpg

I found some bunny tracks.  I was feeling happy.

 photo DSC_0910-001.jpg

It really was tempting to walk on the ice…but I resisted the urge.

 photo DSC_0919-001.jpg

I really like shadows.

 photo DSC_0920-001.jpg

The snow had beautiful patterns in it from being blown around by the wind.  I get so fascinated by the little things I see in Nature.

 photo DSC_0923-001.jpg

*

I really love my Life.

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Nature, photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winter wonder

  1. ptero9 says:

    Wonderfully beautiful pictures Casey!! Thanks for sharing them. The snow is so lovely. We had a dusting here but this morning we also had some icy fog which left the trees flocked. 🙂

    • Casey says:

      Thank you so much, Debra.

      I enjoyed being out there today, even though I had to run for a bit to warm up my legs. I didn’t have two layers on under my pants (next time I will for sure!).

      Icy fog. I bet that was so nice to see the flocking on the trees.

      I finally have a full set of pictures of the same place – spring, summer, fall and winter. After the next big snow, I might go out to the arboretum because I’m sure there will be a lot of snowy beauty to capture on film…well…on digital media. 🙂

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

