Healing tears

 photo photo4-001.jpg

Let your tears come, and not necessarily quietly. Let them flow, flood, storm, shake and wake you. Let your whole body cry, weep, sob. Drop below any shame you might have about crying so openly, letting your heart break, knowing that what is breaking is not your heart, but only the energetic casing around it. If you feel like a child or infant as you cry, let it be, keeping your mind out of it as much as possible. We have so much unattended hurt, so much muted sorrow, so much life-force tied up in keeping our tears, new and old, from fully surfacing. But surface they must, if we are to truly come alive.

~ Robert Augustus Masters

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Emotional Intelligence, Grief and Loss, Healing Power of Tears, Robert Augustus Masters. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Healing tears

  1. ptero9 says:

    So true, tears are cleansing when you can give yourself over to them.

    • Casey says:

      They are.

      Shortly before this quote came through my facebook timeline, I had a good cry yesterday over my keyboard. I was just struck with some deep sorrow for something I mucked up pretty badly.

      I felt just like how he expressed it, like a child.

      And then I just imagined my inner adult hugging my inner child and I felt much better.

      • ptero9 says:

        I find it very empowering to allow myself to feel the feelings and not berate myself for being a child, so yes, that part of us that allows us to feel, especially a deep sadness, even if we can’t account for the sadness, I think ironically gives us strength.
        You have an incredible gift of sharing your vulnerability!
        Peace and hugs Casey 🙂

      • Casey says:

        Thank you, Debra.

        I think what has been most helpful is the warm reception I get when I do share my vulnerability. The fear is that people will turn away when we share, but as, I have found, more support for sharing in this way than by keeping my vulnerable spots protected.

        And I read a lot to help me deal with my intense feelings of grief and sorrow.

        I reblogged something today I wrote a while ago that is the reason why I am not as afraid to be vulnerable anymore as I used to be.

        I hope you enjoy it.

        Casey

  2. Crying good is. Almost on the same level as sex and eating. Probably is on the same level.

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

