Dream sequence – part III: the strangest dreams

I’ve had two really strange and interesting dreams recently.   I never have had intensely happy dreams, until recently.

Dream #3 (a couple of weeks ago):

I was driving in my car, then speeding, with the intention of driving straight into the wall of an overpass on the highway for some reason.  It was something I really, really wanted to do.  I should have died on impact, but I don’t (or maybe I did, but my expectations of what happens when you die didn’t happen).

Instead I feel I an ‘expanding and exploding’ sensation.  I feel it mostly in my head – this intense rush of…well, ecstasy…I think.  It started off small and it crescendoed into a luminous and exploding feeling of incredible joy and well-being. My body in the car and the car itself in the meantime just simply dissolves away.

And I just felt such joy and ecstasy.

When I woke up, I was glad to have that dream…

Dream #4 (a couple of nights ago):

I had fallen asleep on the couch after reading a book.  I was too tired to move to the bedroom and I told my husband I would after a brief rest, which turned into a longer rest because I fell into a dream state.

I was dreaming about one thing (which is rather embarrassing so I won’t share that here), and then suddenly, I fell out of that dream, quite literally.  I fell backwards and was falling in an extremely fast free fall.  A part of me was scared, but a larger part of me was really exhilarated.

I was thinking that I could die, but I don’t in my dream, instead I just kind of, in this wonderful way, just have that same sensation of exploding out of my body.  And I said to myself, just before I did that ‘exploding’, “How can you not believe?” And something like, ‘C’mon, God, break me open’.

And then, in the next moment I do just that and I felt again that wonderful, ecstatic feeling.  I was not in my body anymore…it just dissolved away.

And then, shortly after that, I wake up, and realize I’m laying on the couch with the light on, and my teeth feel furry (I hadn’t brushed my teeth before I fell asleep).

I laid there a while and thought about getting up but still was kind of groggy.  I became somewhat fearful because I think I might really be going crazy.  I was also a little worried that if this is will be a recurring dream, that won’t always have a happy outcome.

Mind you, in real life, I’m not fond of heights and I have a mild phobia of being near railings – if they are above the first floor of any building – and driving over bridges, and I hate rollercoasters because I usually end up sick afterwards and I don’t like driving over 65 mph (just ask my husband).

I know dreams aren’t real…I don’t pay attention to them all that much, unless they are recurring nightmares or I have been partially conscious during the hypnogogic state, or I wake up with sorrow (which I have done after having a dream about someone who died or is no longer in my life and upon waking, I realize it was just a dream and I miss them so much).

What strikes me of these new dreams is how wonderful they were.  I’ve never had that kind of dream before and I really hope to again.

In the second occurrence, since it felt familiar, I did anticipate that it was going to feel really good and I knew I should not be afraid.  There was immense joy at the expanding feeling of me until I burst forth from my fleshly case.  And it felt wonderful, at least, until I woke up and my egoic mind took over and made me afraid.

I’m not sure what kind of meaning these dreams have…other than it seems to verify some of my beliefs that there is something very spiritual going on in the Universe, and I’m getting glimpses of it here and there, if only in the dream world (though I’ve had some unusual experiences during guided meditations too).

Have you experienced anything similar during your dreams?

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in consciousness, dreams, spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dream sequence – part III: the strangest dreams

  1. ptero9 says:

    I spent a lot of time journaling about my dreams when I was in therapy, around 1994-1996, when I was in my late 30’s. I know that being close to my dream states ultimately helped heal some of my deep wounds, not intellectually, but physically, kind of like what you describe about having a joyous sensation or exploding out of your body.
    I remember having a dream about sinking into deep water and I thought I was going to drown, but in the dream, I suddenly realize that I could breathe underwater and felt joyous, swimming around like a fish. 🙂
    Sweet dreams Casey!
    Debra

  2. I actually think dreams are real and they can tell us profund truths. Maybe you will have the patience to read my post on dreams: http://symbolreader.net/2013/06/14/in-my-dreams-i-paint-like-vermeer-van-delft/
    Anyway, your dreams seem like some sort of a revelation to me. As if your Self was telling you how much you are capable of if only you were not paralized by fear. There is also a huge potential for transformation through death of old forms. Also an amazing feeling of liberation. I believe Jung was right when he said that our dreams are sent to us to correct our conscious atttitudes which are no longer serving our evolutionary purpose. It seems that maybe you are limiting yourself or holding yourself back in your conscious life. The spirit is with you in these dreams, they are so amazing.

    • Casey says:

      Thank you so, so much! That is a wonderful thing to think that is what these dreams mean.

      I do have some fears, yes, but at the same time, I know some of them have less than an impact than they used to have.

      “There is also a huge potential for transformation through death of old forms. Also an amazing feeling of liberation. ”

      That’s great to know. I hope I can bring that transformation forth in my conscious life, because it felt so wonderful in the dream life!

      I will definitely read that post. I only have 30 minutes left before I have to go get my two youngest from school, and then the wake tonight, so it might be a while before I do.
      Thank you again, very much for helping me to understand what this might mean for me.

      I’ll read your post as soon as I can.

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

