Elementary, my dear

I absolutely adore Jonny Lee Miller’s take on Sherlock Holmes.  Love him, love the accent, love the sharp dialogue.

I can relate so much to his raw nerve endings and his inner torment.

I wanted to share from the opening scenes of last Thursday night’s episode of Elementary, The Marchioness:

The scene opens up to a Narcotics Anonymous meeting room where they are wrapping up the final minutes of the meeting:

Leader:  What’s the craziest thoughts you’ve had about your disease?  You know what I mean.  You know there nuts but they just keep popping into your head anyway.

Holmes:  I’ve often wondered if I should have been born in another time. My…sorry..my name is Sherlock and I’m an addict…My-my, my senses are unusually well, one could even say unnaturally keen. And ours is an era of distraction. It’s, ah, a punishing drumbeat of constant input. This-this cacophony which follows us into our homes and into our beds and seeps into our into-into our souls, for want of a better word. For a long time, uh, there was only one poultice for my raw nerve endings, and that was, ah, copious drug use. So in my less productive moments, I’m given to wonder if I’d just been born when it was a little quieter out there, would I have even become an addict in the first place? Might I have been more focused? A more fully realized person?

Fellow addict:  What, like Ancient Greece?

Holmes:  Do you have any idea what passed for dental care in the Hellenic era?   No, no, I’d um…I’d want some of the wonders of modernity…like something before everything got so…amplified.

Mycroft (Holmes brother)…what, like 200 years ago?

Holmes (horrified):  Mycroft!

[Holmes then he jumps up, excuses himself and runs out]

***

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Elementary, Highly Sensitive Person, Sherlock Holmes. Bookmark the permalink.

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

