Trick or Treat

We had some spooky fun last night (okay two nights ago, according to when this got published).

Oldest daughter went trick or treating with a friend of hers who came over to our home.

 photo DSC_0159-002.jpg

Middle and youngest daughter went trick or treating with dad.

 photo DSC_0164-002.jpg

Many of our neighbors stand outside in costume waiting for the kids to come by.  We’ve been doing this for years.

 photo DSC_0172-003.jpg

It occurred to me this was a special and fairly uncommon tradition on our block because I had a chat with one of our new neighbors who moved in down the street. She commented on how nice it was that we were all outside greeting the trick-0r-treaters, instead of having to go up to a house and knock on the door.

During down times, we walk down by our neighbors and chat.  My girls got a big kick out of two of our neighbors who dressed like Minions from Despicable Me.

 photo DSC_0163-002.jpg

It was actually rainy for much of the day, but it stopped during the trick-or-treating, though it made the skies a nice creepy gray.

 photo DSC_0175-002.jpg

I even got into the spirit this year and decorated with inexpensive store-bought decorations I found.  In the past, sometimes we made our own, but then they’d fade in the sunlight.

 photo DSC_0181-002.jpg

The girls wanted to carve Minions into their pumpkins and my littlest one wanted a cat.

 photo DSC_0178-002.jpg

I was having some fun scouring the sales the past couple of days since most of it was marked down 70-80%.

 photo DSC_0185-002.jpg

I love these bottles and laboratory “glassware” – I almost pulled out my actual glass beakers, Erlenmyer flask and round-bottom glass flask, but I found plastic versions filled with candy that were much more safe.

 photo DSC_0184-002.jpg

Believe it or not, I’m keeping this up for the weekend, and I’ll take it down Sunday since I only started decorating for real the day before Halloween.

Next year I’m going to plan more in advance and decorate like a Mad Scientist laboratory, I think.

No spiders allowed though…the younger two don’t like them.

On Sunday, I’ll start putting up the Thanksgiving decorations I bought, also mostly 70% off.  Sadly, the Thanksgiving items are clearing out pretty fast and they’ve got barely any left to make room for Christmas stock.

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Halloween. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trick or Treat

  1. Ellen says:

    Your decorations and your ‘spirited’ neighbours made me smile.

    • Casey says:

      Aw, thanks, Ellen.

      I was just thinking that we have been wanting to move from here sometime in the future, but a part of me will miss the kindness of our neighbors. They all really do try and make things nice for the kids. I like that.

      I have a friend who tells me the only time he’d see much of his neighbors is during catastrophe (a home fire, a flood, etc).

      I was going to dress up as a tree, but I couldn’t find my (homemade) costume – I was a tree last weekend at a Halloween party. So I just wore a Halloween t-shirt instead.

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

