A posthumous thanks to Steve Jobs

There are some definite perks to teaching at the high school.  I get to watch some interesting movies and documentaries sometimes.

Yesterday it was the PBS documentary about Steve Jobs called One Last Thing.

It was pretty freaking awesome.   I didn’t know much about Steve Jobs before, other than some pretty rudimentary facts about him and his innovations.  I’ve used Apple computers a little bit before in school and work, and I just recently purchased an iPod.

But I hadn’t known much about Jobs before to speak about him, positively or negatively.

I didn’t know he studied Zen Buddhism.

I didn’t know he studied calligraphy with a master calligrapher and how his experience there impacted the fonts we use on our computers today.

[As an aside, I actually love using calligraphy from time to time].

It has me thinking about a lot of things…and I realize that while I can’t find living mentors at the moment in real life, I can find some inspiration electronically.

I found out a while back how to take a picture of my iPod screens.

And I frequently change my wallpaper using my pictures and artwork.

This one is from my friend (you may have recognized the picture from the previous post).

 photo download.png

And below are some examples of my photography:

 photo photo2-1.png

 photo photo1.png

A few pictures of my favorite artwork.

 photo photo.png

 photo photo3.png

 photo photo4.png

I find it very cool to be able to carry my work with me wherever I go.

The documentary talked about how Jobs revolutionized computers, the music industry, the book industry and telephonic communication.   But also, I’m finding, for photographers and artists, the technology makes it possible to have a portable portfolio.

I have a newfound respect for  Steve Jobs (even if he was kind of a jerk sometimes), whereas once upon a time I didn’t have much of an opinion about him.

I wish I could have known the man.  He seems like he was a force to be reckoned with, though he bounced back from a fairly big setback.  I think he was an amazing, complex, creative, versatile, innovative mind and I could learn a thing or two from his life.

I wish I could thank him, but this will have to do.

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Apple, Art Portfolio, Calligraphy, Steve Jobs. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A posthumous thanks to Steve Jobs

  1. ptero9 says:

    I didn’t know much about him either. On a whim I read the recent biography written by Walter Isaacson and was blown away. His intensity and vision was amazing and to think that it all started because of his love of caligraphy and refusal to go to college for a degree!

    • Casey says:

      Yes, his intensity was incandescent.

      And I find myself very inspired by watching him speak. He stirs something up in me and I find that to be something very few people do.

      I found out what it is by reading a Q and A with the Issacson on the Amazon page for his book.

      His “Reality Distortion Field”

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reality_distortion_field

      Which was

      “[His] ability to convince himself and others to believe almost anything with a mix of charm, charisma, bravado, hyperbole, marketing, appeasement and persistence. RDF was said to distort an audience’s sense of proportion and scales of difficulties and made them believe that the task at hand was possible.”

      Something else that is striking:

      Issacson said on the Aamazon interview (which I won’t link to because I keep getting a huge picture of the book):

      “Steve was filled with contradictions. He was a counterculture rebel who became a billionaire. He eschewed material objects yet made objects of desire. He talked, at times, about how he wrestled with these contradictions. His counterculture background combined with his love of electronics and business was key to the products he created. They combined artistry and technology.”

      I don’t know why, but that makes me feel better knowing that he struggled with such contradictions. He wasn’t just a money-hungry megalomaniac.

      On a much smaller scale, I struggle with this contradiction in myself as well. Sometimes I feel I have a ‘creator compulsion’ and have to create stuff, but then I look around at how much craft stuff I have purchased in order to meet that need. All the while, I’m aware of how many of the people in the world are struggling in poverty.

      I think a lot of my anxiety lately has come from a deep sense of guilt. How can i justify having “so much” (comparatively) when so many people have so little.

      • ptero9 says:

        Boy, I can relate to the guilt. Sometimes I think us Westerners and particularly Americans, have such a Disneyland existence, because of the wealth and opportunity, that it seems too much.
        Although I am by no means wealthy by American standards, the comfort of my life makes me feel vulnerable, not so much from the threat of loss, but more from the threat of having lost so many survival skills, if and when the grid that we all depend on were to be lost.
        Just speaking for myself, but I feel that I owe a lot to the world because of how much has been given, and am inspired by that to try to be a little nicer to people and to give back in whatever ways I can.
        It’s does not feel like an obligation so much as a love for life, the world, people I know and want to know and even strangers.

      • Casey says:

        I hope this will end up in the right spot.

        I am from a very wealthy family. My mother didn’t have firsthand access to this wealth though. It was her father’s, and so the way she behaved was to manipulate to get her father to do and buy things for her (build her houses, the building for her catering business, cars and such). And, the way she treated me and my older two sisters when we were growing up was like dirt because we reminded her of my father. She treated my half-brother and half-sister very well – for instance, they both went to private school while my sisters and I went to public school. She sent them both to private universities to live on campus, but she never allowed me to live on campus at the university of my choice. My brother was known as the ‘golden child’ and got his undergraduate and law school paid for. She even bought his condo and his first home for him, too.

        Have you ever read V.C. Andrews Flowers in the Attic? Yeah, it was kind of like that.

        My mother was a controlling person and constantly threatened my safety by claiming she’d go tell my grandfather how I was behaving and how they would kick me out of the family if I didn’t comply and at the same time, if I didn’t do what I was told, I’d end up on the streets, a bag lady.

        Because I was a divergent thinker, I did misbehave, on purpose. I didn’t take well to being manipulated.

        As a result, I ran away from home a couple of times between the ages of 18 and 22. I borrowed my friends’ homes for a spell so I could get a break from the pressure to conform to things I could not tolerate.

        All of my siblings live in huge homes – three live in a golf course subdivision. I am the ‘broke one’ in the family. I have felt sickened most of my life by the excesses of my family, and the entitled attitudes of my family members. I even felt bad with how much my own husband spent on video gaming systems (I think we had 3 or 4 plus numerous games).

        I think I carry not just my own guilt, but their disowned feelings of guilt too.

        This just came to me yesterday as I was examining my anxiety.

        I think the ways I help are by my work with passing on information regarding selective mutism (which my daughter had) on one of my other blogs and by normalizing the experiences of the population of the gifted, sensitive and creative. I used to be a moderator of a message board for gifted adults and had spent a lot of time sharing my experiences and helping other gifted individuals understand that their experiences in the world are quite typical for the population we comprise. Believe it or not, I helped other people relieve their anxieties and encouraged them to re-frame their self-perceptions.

        And then i struggled with my own self. But I think that was easier because I have had a lot more life challenges than they did (special needs daughter, husband with an alcohol problem, etc).

        I have had a lot of negative self-talk too. And that has to stop.

        I personally don’t feel I owe anything to anybody right now. I mean, I realized I will WANT to do something big, in time. Right now, I’m not good to anyone in this condition. I have got to get my anxiety and my flagging energy levels under control.

        As far as losing survival skills? Well, there are things that could be learned now, before we lose the grid. One of my desires is to live a more self-reliant life – going back to the old ways of doing things. In time, I will. I just have to get rid of this anxiety because it really messes everything up.

  2. papa t says:

    the shrooms are smarter than the sailor

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

