Shaking medicine

Shamanism has been coming into my field of view a lot lately. I’m not sure if I’m up for exploring that in real life, but I do know of a local person trained in shamanism if I wanted to give it a go.

I read this post from Beyond Meds and a few days ago and while the ‘shaking medicine’ seems really foreign to me, I do love to turn up the music and dance goofy in my living room once in a while, and I can see how this might be therapeutic.

Everything Matters: Beyond Meds

I really enjoy Bradford Keeney and have read some of his books. He calls himself a recovering psychotherapist. I like that. His methods now are more shamanic in nature and he’s coined the term shaking medicine.

Shaking is also a good way to release trauma from the nervous system. See: Trauma Release Exercises for more on that

A revolutionary approach to Psychotherapy and Healing with Bradford Keeney.

Here is Bradford Keeney on Sounds True. An interview I listened to quite a long time ago but did not share on this blog. I really loved it:

Tami Simon speaks with Bradford Keeney, an internationally renowned scholar, therapist, speaker, and teacher. In addition to being the author of several classics in the field of psychotherapy, including Aesthetics of Change and Shaking Medicine, Brad has a deep connection to elders of numerous indigenous cultures and is a recognized spokesperson for the…

View original post 144 more words

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

