On Destiny

 photo P1220747.jpg

I finally finished the above art journaling page Saturday night…

…before I spent the next 12 hours being sick with a nasty stomach bug, contracted from my sister at my niece’s Sweet 16 birthday party.

The theme of this page was “True Intentions” and we were supposed to create a mixed media piece representing a person made with non-traditional elements for the body and arms.

We were then asked to add our intentions somewhere on the page.  I chose the words hope, love, connect, celebrate, together, “embrace your destiny” and “remember to be happy” (because honestly, sometimes I forget to be happy).

The stamp on the left is a quote by Henry David Thoreau that says “Friends are kind to each others’ hopes.  They cherish each others’ dreams”.

The other one on the bottom right is a definition stamp of the word

Friend:

1.  A person whom one knows well and is fond of.

2.  An ally, supporter or sympathizer.

3.  Loves you for who you are.

4.  Unconditionally accepts you.

Today as I was browsing some art websites, I came across this quote from a book I read a long time ago, with a dear friend of mine.

“When Siddhartha listened attentively to this river, to the song of a thousand voices; when he did not listen to the sorrow or laughter, when he did not bind his soul to any one particular voice and absorb it in his Self, but heard them all, the whole, the unity; then the great song of a thousand voices consisted of on word: Om-perfection.

From that hour Siddhartha ceased to fight against his destiny. There shone in his face the serenity of knowledge, of one who is no longer confronted with conflict of desires, who has found salvation, who is in harmony with the stream of events, with the stream of life, full of sympathy and compassion, surrendering himself to the stream, belonging to the unity of all things.” 

~ Siddhartha by Herman Hesse

I’m learning some hard lessons in this life.

There are some lessons I really don’t want to learn.

There are some lessons I’m still struggling to understand.

I’m learning to surrender.

I’m learning to embrace my destiny.

I’m learning to embrace the reality of “What Is”.

I’m making my way out of fear and into love.

Moving from unconsciousness to consciousness.

And from entanglements to real relationships.

It’s a journey that I’ve been, at times, reluctant to take.

And yet I’m still determined to proceed on the path, even in the presence of my doubts.

There are certainly many others who came before me to help me on my way.

“The path is a personal experience, and one should take delight in those little things that go on in our lives, the obstacles, seductions, paranoias, depressions, and openness.   All kinds of things happen, and that is the content of the journey, which is extremely powerful and important.  Without those problems, we cannot tread on the path.  We should feel grateful that we are not sterile, completely cleaned out, that the world has not been overtaken by some computerized system.   There is still room for rawness and ruggedness all over the place.”

~ Chogyam Trungpa, The Path is the Goal.

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Buddhism, Compassion, consciousness, depression, Gratitude, Love, Mindfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On Destiny

  1. ksbeth says:

    Beautiful in every way )

  2. Casey says:

    Thank you, ksbeth.

    One of these days I’ll know deep in my bones what the wise ones already know.

  3. smultron says:

    Love the colors!
    smultron

  4. Casey says:

    Thanks smultron –

    It’s not my normal color palette, but they have grown on me. It’s one of my favorite combinations now.

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

