Sadness and sickness

I still struggle daily within myself.  I am pretty sure it’s due to the auto-immune disease I have, which was recently confirmed by antibody testing.  Hashimoto’s thyroiditis steals my energy and leaves me with fatigue, depression and anxiety.

Since a lot of people come to my blog with some variation of the keywords “hashimoto’s and bipolar”, I’ll share something I read last night:

http://www.stopthethyroidmadness.com/hashimotos/

WHY IS IT IMPORTANT TO KNOW IF I HAVE FULL BLOWN HASHI’S?? As Hashimotos increases, you will tend to swing between hypo and hyper, making dosing by labs, and especially the TSH, impossible. Your labs will be high one time, and low the next…back and forth. The hyper is caused by the release of thyroid hormones into your blood due to the destruction. The hypo is caused by the lessening function of your thyroid due to the attack. If you do have Hashi’s, you may have to insist to your lab-obsessed doctor to let you raise by the elimination of symptoms, not labs, due to this reality.

Also, knowing if you have Hashimotos tells you that you may need to be on the watch for other immune problems, now or later.

MY DOC SAID I HAVE Bi-POLAR?  Several patients have reported being diagnosed with bipolar, only to later discover it was actually the swings between hyper- and hypo- from the attack that was causing their mood swings. Or as on Australian gal called it, the “Yeeha” of her swing.

One of the key related auto-immune diseases is celiac disease.  And I can tell you, while I do get checked for celiac disease every year and don’t have it, I have family members with both celiac disease and thyroid disease.

Two different endrocrinologists won’t treat it, so I am left to struggle with the melancholy and mood swings that affects my daily living.

I don’t like it, and I don’t have the energy to fight the doctors right now.  I’m just learning to live with it and treat it with natural supplements and diet.  I know it’s not enough, partly because often I don’t feel like eating.  I feel like I have the energy of a frail old woman.  This isn’t living.  And while it breaks my heart many times, and affects my relationship with my husband and my daughters sometimes, it is what it is.

I’m not sure what to do now.  The only thyroid-supporting supplement I haven’t tried that is not prescription is selenium.  I’ll run to the health food store and get that picked up tomorrow, to add to my growing list of daily supplements.

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Bipolar, Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. Bookmark the permalink.

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

