Sacred spaces

I’ve been thinking a lot about sacred spaces on my journey to heal from a lot of childhood and relationship trauma.

I’ve been trying a lot of things to heal, including art, craniosacral therapy, myofascial release and yoga, and various types of meditations.

I’m fond of sacred objects or talismans – little objects imbued with personal meaning that reminds me of someone from my life, or something that evokes a positive feeling that I hold onto when I have to fight off the melancholy.

Since I’ve started meditating more in earnest, I decided to start employing a meditation table and in addition, decided to make this tablescape a part of a permanent sacred altar in my bedroom.

I’ve been looking high and low for a good “how to” make a sacred altar, complete with pictures.

I found one here at The Reality of One under a post called Creating a Sacred Altar.

What is a sacred altar?

An altar is the place to will something, whether by meditating, praying, or performing a ritual. It all depends on the actual beliefs of the physical person. I encourage anyone of any religion in invest in an altar, as an altar brings peace and harmony to the mind, body and soul. It encourages one to connect with their inner-self, God, or Goddess. A Sacred Altar is a place where we connect our physical body with our spiritual being. I must add that a spiritual being is not necessarily a ghost, angel or demon, but more of the person we are and who we praise, like Jesus, or Buddha, etc.

You can read the above link for ideas on how to create a sacred altar of your own.

I’ve begun putting mine together on top of a bookshelf in my room and I am sure it will evolve over time.  The Renoir Poster was always there.  It’s one of my favorite paintings and so it shall stay.

 photo P1200778.jpg

Since I am doing inner child work, I put a picture of myself when I was five or so on my sacred altar so that I would be reminded that I need to take care of the inner child that is me.  I spent many, many years neglecting her and as a result, failed to nourish her and allowed other people to cross boundaries and bring harm to her.

What’s worse than that though, in my darkest hours, I have abused my inner child too and almost killed her (and me) a time or two.

 photo P1200776.jpg

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Complex-PTSD, depression, Lovingkindness, Meditation, meditation altar, sacred altar. Bookmark the permalink.

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

