This says it all…

Photobucket

Hi, blog word!

After a pretty long hiatus, I thought I’d come back online and post a little bit.  I have a new job as a substitute teacher and substitute teacher’s aide for the regular classroom as well as for special needs kids in our local school district.  I am on-call every day to stand in for absentee teachers and aides.  I have been doing this for the past 3 weeks and I am never doing the same thing twice.

I have substituted from preschool up through 8th grade so far, though I have a certification up through 12th grade.  Life here has been crazy busy, but I get home about the same time my daughters do, and I will have the same vacation days they will have.

I’ve worked at their school a number of times and I prefer that, because sometimes I get to see them during lunch breaks or when I take my class to their different “specials” (art, music, gym, or library) and I don’t need to pay for after-school care.

I get home very tired sometimes, but it’s a good experience, even on the days that are more challenging than others.  And yes, some days are VERY challenging, and not necessarily the days I work with special needs kids!  Ugh – middle schoolers (need I say more?).

I like that I get some income in, while still having enough time to help my daughters with their homework and do fun things like art journaling with them.

Photobucket

I love that at least two of my daughters love to do art with me.  My oldest was off reading a book that night.

Photobucket

At any rate, I imagine my posting might be less frequent, but I’m going to resume a fairly regular posting schedule.

I hope.

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Art Journaling, Art with Kids, career. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This says it all…

  1. Phil says:

    I posted on your RSG site, but no reason not to congratulate you a second time here! Congratulations!

    • Thank you, Phil.

      I’ll take the second congratulations from you! I know not many people on this blog know about my other blog, so I posted in both places.

      It’s one of the drawbacks of having multiple blogs!

  2. Mom Gail says:

    Congratulations on the new job! It seems like so far it’s pretty satisfying for you. Middle schooler’s can be challenging, but the children with special needs will make up for that.Your dad & I are very proud of you as we always have been, but we are very happy for you as you start on your new journey. We love you so much.

  3. Thanks Mom Gail.

    I have to give you a call, but I’ve been zonked by the end of the day. I hope to get some time soon.

    It all happened quite fast, once I got my paperwork in, and I’ve not had any time to catch my breath. But I’m getting into the swing of things, so it’s going fairly well.

    I love you both too!

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

