Indie Arts Vintage Marketplace

Photobucket

I spent last weekend in Indianapolis with my husband, who was taking  a course in craniosacral therapy.   While he was learning some hands-on techniques, I went out and explored.  One of my favorite little events that I was able to attend was the Indie Arts Vintage Marketplace.

The market entrance was gaurded by these two upcycled robots.

Photobucket

An avid fan of re-using and re-purposing old household items rather than buying new, I love flea markets.  But not any old junque will do.  I love the shabby chic look – the soft color palette of creams, pale pink, sage green and robin’s egg blue.

Photobucket

I really loved that cherub sculpture and all the vintage baubles, which is really odd, because I don’t adorn myself with jewelry.  I just like looking at vintage accessories.   It reminds me of my childhood, when I’d go through my mother and grandmother’s jewelry boxes and looking at the bejeweled treasures inside.

Photobucket

Reloved.  Yeah.  One man’s trash is another man’s treasure.

Photobucket

The blue of these stacked chairs kept grabbing my attention as I walked by.  I made about three  trips round the marketplace, coming back to my favorite spots for better shots.  I don’t know what the iron circles were for, but it makes me think of training animals to jump through flaming hoops.

Photobucket

I’m not into 60’s Space-Age design, but I did think this vendor’s sign was just neat-o.

Photobucket

Seating  fit for a king and queen.

Photobucket

I walked the marketplace all over and was looking for an inexpensive suitcase.  I was surprised to see many of the vintage cases going for $25-$45.  It was insane, until I came to this place and found a lovely little yellow case for $15.   Gotta love a bargain.

Photobucket

My buttery yellow Amelia Earheart case…and yes, I have a plan for it.  I also have a plan for the small wooden display case in the back too I bought from the same vendor.

Photobucket

Then there were things to be seen that were just plane weird.

Photobucket

I think this will be my new “look”.    Or maybe not.

Photobucket

Anyone need a new piece of art?

Photobucket

There were SOOO many things I wish I could have bought…but I neither had the car space or the budget for it.

But it was a fun visual experience anyway.

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Art, flea market, Indie Arts Vintage Marketplace, Shabby Chic, Vintage and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Indie Arts Vintage Marketplace

  1. Vintage Living Magazine says:

    Looks like a wonderful place to satisfy vintage and thrift shopping cravings! Love those robots! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  2. Thank you and you’re welcome, VLM. It was a wonderful place. I was lucky enough to 1) notice the advertisement on a bathroom stall in a restaurant hubby and I dined at the night before, and 2) be there and available the Saturday they came to Indianapolis.

    The robots are fun, aren’t they?

    ~ Casey

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

