Doodlebug

I’ve been quietly brooding contemplating life lately.  I might have a few posts in the coming days, but for right now I thought I’d post some happy doodles I have been making.

I tend to bring my sketch books whereever I go and I tend to doodle either when I’m watching the girls play softball, or at the coffee shop, or occasionally late at night.

I like doodling because it’s fun and a little meditative.

Photobucket

I don’t know if I showed this one off yet, but I like it enough to show it again.
Photobucket

“Someone Exactly Like You” is the song title of a Van Morrison song from ages ago.

Photobucket

My daughter is getting into doodling a little bit. Here she was borrowing a book of doodles for some inspiration for her “magic carpet” she needed to make for a story she wrote in class before school was over.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I noticed that long, boring awards banquets for your 8th grade nephew aren’t so boring when you can doodle on the program.

Photobucket

And yes, I realize I misquoted the title of the movie “Don’t Mess with the Zohan”.  But, not really.  My brother, the ultra-cool, snooty lawyer dude was at the dinner table, and I said something along the lines about if my husband or I don’t get a job soon, that I’d go sell my body to put food on the table.  He didn’t think that was appropriate dinner table talk and disapprovingly sniped at me. But I was KIDDING!

Hence, I wrote, “Don’t mess with ‘Bro’ – han”.  Bro = slang for brother.   See?

Don’t get me wrong.  I like my brother enough.  He just doesn’t like my kind of humor.

And this was a little bit of an attempt at a watercolor in a little watercolor notebook I have. It is supposed to be a sunset over my favorite pond done with watercolor pencils.

Photobucket

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Art, Art Journaling, Art with Kids, Doodles. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Doodlebug

  1. joesoares says:

    Nice work Casey.
    Blessings. x

  2. Thanks Joe.

    The girls and I have fun over here.

    🙂

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

