I’m officially in the job market

The good news is:   I am officially in the job market.

The bad news is:   Very soon a herd of recent graduates will be flooding the job market too.

The good news is:  I’ve got 12 years of clinical microbiology and genetics experience

The bad news is:  It’s over 8 years old.

The good news is:  I’m an excellent communicator

The bad news is:  I’m in my 40s – a great age to be a cougar, not so great an age for enticing employers.

The good news is: I have excellent self-confidence

The bad news is:  That’s not really true.

My husband’s been laid off forever.  His 79th week of unemployment assistance finally ran out.  Our savings are taxed.  No one seems to want to hire an older, out of work mechanical engineer who knows a little about a LOT of things.  He’s had a few interviews, no offers.

I won’t even pretend I’m hirable.  I’m keeping my expectations low.

Wish me luck.  I hope we can resolve this major dilemma really soon.

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in career. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m officially in the job market

  1. joesoares says:

    Good luck you guys!! Hope all goes smoothly .
    Smiles all over.
    Joe.x

  2. Thanks so much. We shall see what there is to see. I hope I find a good fit.

    I am both nervous to the changes and looking forward to a new chapter of my life. I will try to keep smiling through the nervousness.

    🙂

  3. Carolyn Dube says:

    You are hire-able! What about the skills employers can’t teach like working with others, maintaining high standards, passion, enthusiasm, being a strong communicator? Updated skills is the easiest part to teach an employee- the other skills are much harder. Reading you on this blog I see so many strengths that an employer would love to have!

  4. Thank you very much, Carolyn. I really appreciate the vote of confidence. If I can just get an interview, I think I can shine. The hardest part is getting to that point. I have heard from a recruiter two days ago and we talked. She had two job possibilities, but she said it would be difficult. One of them is for the same University I worked in before…so that would be wonderful. I’m really hoping I can get an interview.

    In the meantime…I’m reviewing some online user’s guides to the current technologies that my old laboratories are using that are found at the biotech company websites. I might not have the hands-on experience, but I’ll have the background knowledge at least updated.

    I also am thinking of getting the certification study guide for what I used to do (molecular biology technology). I can’t get certified until after I’d been working for a year, but at least I’d be ready for it.

    I am both optimistic and realistic. We’ll see what happens.

    Casey

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

