Happy Mother’s Day

I’ve been in a quietly contemplative mood lately.  Periodically, I retreat from blogging without warning, because I need a break and every time I announce I’m going to take a break…it never usually lasts.  I’m back on in a couple of days.  I find it better for me just to retreat and come back whenever the mood strikes.

I’ve been creating in my art and gratitude journals.  I’ve been making some more artist trading cards, and thinking about affirmation cards and some other things I plan on making.

I’ve been a mother for 10 years now…and I still am not sure how to do this job very well…but my daughters are very forgiving of that.  We have some good times together, doing art and talking and having mommy and me dates whenever we can (usually going out for a meal and a treat and some conversation).

I’m far from a perfect mother.  I’m cranky way too much (still).  It’s because I had a really rough childhood.  I’m doing a lot of inner child work, reading a lot of John Bradshaw’s work and seeing how the family dysfunction continues to try to sabotage my current relationships.  Because even though I’m an adult…the wounded child still hurts…she’s still a little too emotional, but the good news is, she’s less and less angry as the adult in me seeks to re-mother her.

Believe it or not, I made some artwork for my mother today.  We are going to her house in a few hours, and I have no idea if she’ll like what I made.  It’s a mixed media piece on wood cradle board – which I like a lot better than canvas because it’s sturdy.  I bought a metal art easel to put it on too.  It was on clearance at the craft store.

Photobucket

I can’t really decide if I like it or not.  I mean, I love the scrapbook paper the metal elements and the stickers, but I’m not fond of the background color scheme.  I wish now I had gone with blue-green…but I started out thinking I was going to duplicate the other wedding layout for my mother…but at the last minute, changed my mind.

Since I just started this yesterday, I had no time to re-do it.

I almost hope my mother doesn’t like it…because I would like it keep it for myself.

But, I don’t know.  I think if she didn’t like it, it would also hurt my feelings.

I don’t know…what do you think?  Aside from the slightly crooked placement of some elements…do you think this passes as a decent gift?

It’s one thing to make for myself…but another thing to make something for another.

Oh, yeah…I almost forgot.
Happy Mother’s Day!

***

ack…I had my daughter help me out with getting rid of excess glue and she smeared the copper ink at the top, so I had to re-do it.  Actually, I like it much better this way.

What a happy accident…

Photobucket

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Art, Mixed Media. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Mother’s Day

  1. Mom Gail says:

    Well, did she like it? I pray she did. I know how much of you, you put into this. I love you

  2. Mom Gail,

    She did like it, actually. She has changed over the past few years…softened a little bit…mostly due to losing her parents and her own health problems. She is finally feeling her mortality…and she has less interest in being mean these days…unless of course it has to do with dad.

    I just thought I’d tell you, she’s been recently diagnosed with a melanoma. She had two surgeries – one for the initial removal and biopsy, then they went back in again after it turned up positive.

    As far as what goes into my art pieces like this…it really doesn’t take long at all. Maybe about 3 hours – priming, painting, and adding embellishments.

    I’m in the process of making other ones too. And yes, you’ll be getting one of my pieces too.

    Love you, back.

    Tell dad I’m sorry about not calling him. I thought of calling him on his birthday, then my nephew had an 8th grade banquet Tuesday night and I totally flaked out. My memory is shot these days (due to the thyroid malfunctioning and ADD and general anxiety/depression).

    • Mom Gail says:

      I would hope that she could finally make peace with the past. To hang on to the anger only keeps a person sick , mentally, emotionally, but it can also keep a person sick physically. I will keep her in my prayers

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

