Not always rainbows and sunshine over here

I have to laugh about my happy art journal layouts. Bright colors, pretty girly layouts.

I really started out art journaling with the intention of self-discovery and managing turbulent moods. I actually was more depressed when I started about six months ago.

My very first art journal layout was inspired by Hermann Hesse’s Steppenwolf.

Photobucket

Photobucket

One of my early art journal posts was about expressing anger and rage through art.

Photobucket

But, I can’t believe how much happier I feel these days.  I worry about the depression I’ve had returning (especially since husband and I are both unemployed and going to lose our family health insurance at the end of the month), but I also have a bit more hope that I can handle it a little better too.

I think art truly can be transformative and healing.

Check out the Healing Through the Arts website for some hope and great inspiration.

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Art, Art Journaling, Creating, Healing Through the Arts, Hope, Moods. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Not always rainbows and sunshine over here

  1. I so feel the same!! I am also much happier now than I was before I started art journaling. I thought I was starting to art journal as a way to deal with more negative-seeming emotions, but it has turned out that most of what I create is girly, sunshine, rainbows, and lollipops! Great insight!
    xoxo MotherDana

  2. MotherDana –

    I’m so glad for both of us then. It’s been a fun experience. And…I peeked at your blog. I can’t wait to read more of it. I love your recent post about the nest.

    And the great thing about art journaling, I can do it WITH my daughters. They’ve been doing art alongside me sometimes, and I even got my husband to do it with me once. I have to get him back to doing some with me.

    I’m also going to start a small journal as a “gratitude journal”. I got that idea from someone (LadyRomp) who visited my blog recently.

    Thanks for your comment.

    I’ll be visiting your blog tonight after the girls go to bed.

    🙂

  3. Thanks for the sweet comments about the blog…I also art with my kidlets, particularly my 7-year old. She has an art journal of her own, and shares lots of art time with me. My hubby, not so into the art journaling, although he is a great art director 🙂
    A gratitude journal is SUCH a great idea! I keep one on my iPhone, more in list form rather than in visual art form. What a great way to remind ourselves of our joy in this world.
    I’m so glad to have run into you here!!
    xoxo

    • You’re welcome. I have been perusing some of your layouts. I am going to try to imitiate one or two sometime.

      I just picked up a journal for 2.99 at a place called Tuesday Morning with Charlotte Bronte on the cover. I’m going to try and gesso a page or two and see if it works out for a gratitude art journal. I hope so. 🙂

      For Christmas, I got art journals and stamps and other art supplies for the girls for art journaling. It’s going pretty well.

      It’s been nice to meet you as well. I just got my white artist’s tape in the mail and and FINALLY got a punchinella template. Can’t wait to use them.

  4. Jim Cantwell says:

    I love the doorknob on the journal 🙂

  5. Jim Cantwell says:

    seriously, that’s not real ?

  6. Jim Cantwell says:

    damn, you’re good 🙂

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

