Old wedding photos

My mother inherited my grandmother’s old photo albums after she passed away a few years back.  I went yesterday to my mother’s house and brought along my camera, because my mother won’t let me take any of the old photos home with me to scan in to my computer.

I have no idea who these people are, but they are from a very, very long time ago.

I have to go ask my mother if she knows who these people are.

On this first one, I have to go back and retake it, because the right side of the picture got over-exposed.

Photobucket

Back in the day, no one smiled for wedding photos.  Here’s a great discussion as to why:

Why don’t people smile in old photographs from the Ohio Historical Society Collections blog.

Photobucket

I have an art journal project started with this one (below) this morning.  I can’t wait to finish it.

Photobucket

I was working on it while my oldest and youngest and I were doing some art with me.  My 1o year old, working on a dog she is drawing from a set of inspirational cards.

Photobucket

My newly 7 year old using watercolor crayons and pencils.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Well, I’m going to go see if I can start on phase three of my art journal layout.

Have a beautiful day, my friends.

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Art, Art with Kids, Creativity, Old Photographs, photography, Weddings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Old wedding photos

  1. Jim Cantwell says:

    Hey Casey,
    I love old photos in general there is something about them and how they represent a time of much more grandeur than today.. I would say if I had to guess the first one is from the late 1800s early 1900s, I would guess the rest are from the 1930’s.
    Great post with great photos 🙂

  2. Yeah, thank you Jim, I started writing the post before I put all the photos in, so I made a mistake. I do agree the first one is probably much earlier than the 1930s.

    I’m going to guess about very late 1800s to early 1900s that too. I figure they might be my great-grandparent’s time. My grandfather was born in 1911, my grandmother a little bit after then, so you figure maybe about 2-10 years before they were born if they were their parents generation, or 10-20 years if they were their grandparents generation. They were all on paper, so they are definitely after 1884 when Eastman first came out with film/paper. They aren’t deguerrotypes.

    They had something special going on with the lovely clothes and accessories back then.

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

