Itty Bitty Art – Artist Trading Cards

I have a fun new hobby using mixed-media techniques to make mini works of art and they are officially called Artist Trading Cards. At 2″ by 3″, these are playing card sized collages and they are fun to make and trade with other artists.

I thought I’d share a great link and some of my own artist trading cards I recently made.

http://www.altered-art.net/make-artist-trading-cards-2.html

These are great to try if you would like to get into art but are daunted by a white blank page.  The small size is less intimidating and a great way to try out new color combinations.  If they don’t work out, you don’t lose much time or materials.

Here are three in a similar theme (I placed them on a blue page in my art journal).

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I haven’t traded any, but mostly because I don’t know of any artists to trade them with.

So far, I’m just playing with my acrylic and watercolor paints and having fun. This is one creative activity that just makes me happy and they are like little love notes to myself that brighten my day.

I might start giving them out to people I meet with contact information on them, in lieu of business cards.

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Art, Art Journaling, Artist Trading Cards. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Itty Bitty Art – Artist Trading Cards

  1. I think your friends and family would all love to receive these little treasures! Looks like fun!

  2. Thank you Artexpectations.

    It is fun…and doesn’t take a lot of time…

    But, uh, surprisingly, I don’t have girl friends anymore (I used to when I worked). I do have a lot of acquaintances, though, the parents of all my daughters’ friends. I have a few guy friends I see once in a great while…but…I don’t know.

    and um…gee, well, as far as family goes…

    My family thinks I’m weird enough already. I can’t be sure of their reaction…but I suspect they would look at me funny. Maybe I’ll try and see how it goes.

    I think my husband’s family would like them (his mother, aunt and sister). They are all creative and would enjoy something like this.

  3. shutterbug says:

    This is cool! I just learned about this hobby today while at my local craft store. It sounds like fun! I love stuff like this!

  4. It IS fun. It’s a cute, fun way to get new ideas out, to share ideas with others, to just brighten the day with a little color without taking a long time.

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

