Starved Rock Part II

For Part I click here.

After climbing on the walls of French Canyon, we stopped to take a break.  Well, we adults did.  The girls had tons of energy.

Photobucket

We didn’t stay long before we started up another trail.

Photobucket

Wildcat Canyon from above…

Photobucket

and base level.

Photobucket

The waterfall here was really pretty.

Photobucket

A closeup of the base of the waterfall.

Photobucket

More rocks to climb. Even though they had signs restricting hikers that we hadn’t noticed till we were already halfway up.

Photobucket

I’m so proud that my girls enjoyed the natural playground.  Though, it was pretty hard in parts.  We had to grab onto and climb over roots to get to the top.

Photobucket

We took the river trail back to the lodge.  Fox Valley River is off to our right, and Lover’s Leap Overlook is in the distance.

Photobucket

The scenery was so beautiful and it was a perfectly sunny but cool spring day, so that even after 3.5 hours, we were tired, but not too terribly hot.

Photobucket

This picture of my daughter reminds me of a book called Last Child in The Woods by Richard Louv.  I am trying very hard to save my children from Nature Deficit Disorder.

Photobucket

So much walking…up and down stairs.  After 3 hours, we were barely making it.  My legs were barely supporting me.  Husband’s back was just about shot.

Photobucket

And finally, we made it back to the lodge, where we stopped to have some hard earned supper.

Photobucket

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Last Child In the Woods, Nature, photography, Starved Rock. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Starved Rock Part II

  1. joesoares says:

    Really pretty. thanks for sharing.
    Smiles
    Joe

    • Thank you, Joe.

      Years ago, when I was 22 or so, one of my boyfriends took me there. Over the years, I had taken about 4 of my other real life friends and of course went with my husband a couple of times and have gone a few times by myself. It’s just a beautiful place to hike.

      I always wish I can bring my internet friends along with me on my outdoor excursions. The best I can do is bring pictures back to show them, to enjoy at least a little visual tour of the places that mean a lot to me.

  2. Jim Cantwell says:

    Really nice pictures Casey, looks like you guys had a great time.

    • Jim –

      Thanks. The place is just fantastic to shoot.

      I was unsure whether or not the girls would enjoy it. We have gone on trips that exhausted them early, and I was kind of afraid of all the stair climbing we had to do. But they did great, and they enjoyed climbing on the canyon walls. We only had a little bit of an upset towards the end…when my littlest got fatigued and felt like she couldn’t move another inch. Then again, I felt the same way.

      I am very happy that they enjoyed it. And, the nice thing about it was that it was free to get in. Some places we go ask for an entrance fee, but not this one.

  3. Looks like a wonderful time! Have you been to LaSalle Canyon or Council Overhang? It’s in the southern part of the park. Not as crowded, and beautiful canyons. I will have to check out the book, “Last Child in the Woods.” Very important to raise nature-conscious children. I love your Jack Kerouac quote too!

  4. Gingerskeeper,

    It was a fantastic time. I see that you went recently too. How neat! You know, I’ve been to Starved Rock many times, but always seem to visit the same places. We drove a different route this time, so we actually found where those two parking lots to get to them were at. I’ve been wanting to go to Council Overhang and take pictures so that’s exactly what we will do for our next visit.

    I think you will enjoy LCITW.

    Yep, Jack’s had some great writings…and he had a LOT of interesting letters over the years.

    Thanks for saying hello.

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

