Starved Rock – Part I

So this won’t be a ginormous post of pictures, I’ll split it up into a couple of parts.

On Wednesday, we visited Starved Rock in Utica, Illinois.

We climbed to the top of Starved Rock.

Photobucket

And looked out at the Illinois (not Fox Valley like I thought) River and its lock.

Photobucket

And we could see the other mountainous overlook – Lover’s Leap.

Photobucket

For a brief history behind Starved Rock and Lover’s Leap, you can read about it HERE.
We descended into the first canyon, called French Canyon.  The path was mighty treacherous in parts.

Photobucket

It was glorious to be here with my daughters.  I’ve been about a dozen or so times, but this was the first time with my girls.

Photobucket

We hadn’t had much snow over the winter, nor much rain yet this spring, so the waterfall was quite spare.
Photobucket

But we all had a great climbing expedition.

Photobucket

Getting up was the easy part.  Going down, notsomuch.

Photobucket

Playing in the rivulet of water.

Photobucket

My oldest daughter (center) and my middle daughter (left).

Photobucket

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in photography, Starved Rock. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Starved Rock – Part I

  1. Very fun! I think that’s the Illinois River, not the Fox Valley River, though. Have you gone in the winter to see the eagles? They are all along the river, and it’s worth a cold trip!

  2. You are probably right about the River. I think we passed a town with Fox River and I think that’s where I got confused.

    I’ll have to go during winter to see the eagles. That would be fantastic!

    Oops. Gotta go get my girls from school.

  3. Oh, okay, I know why I got confused We drove through Ottawa, and the Fox Valley River is a tributary that meets the Illinois river there.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fox_River_%28Illinois_River_tributary%29

    Thanks for the correction.

    🙂

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

