Love’s Promise

Love’s Promise

Glittering are my tears
in the moonlight.

They fall wordlessly to the
mossy ground beneath our feet.

With the alchemy of love’s magic
my tears transform into tiny flowers.

You bend to collect them in your strong hands.

You place them gently in my hair,
affixing them like a circlet around my head.

You adorn me with the gift of our love.

Your hands in mine,
Our fingers entwined.

Our hearts being bent like the willow in the wind.

I can’t bear your leaving,
my chest won’t stop heaving.

With tender, sweet kisses you plant upon me,
you whisper to me your promise:

I will always be near you.

Until my physical return,

You will find me

in the gentle breeze that caresses your face
in the sun’s glow that warms your flesh
in the birdsong that serenades you
in the butterfly that alights on the flower
in the fragrance of the flower that pleases you.

I’m watching over you forevermore.

You only have to look for me, and you will find me

Everywhere.

CC 3/29/12

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Love, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Love’s Promise

  1. Go easy on me, poetry is hard and I don’t like following the rules, especially the one’s I don’t know.

    🙂

  2. joesoares says:

    Wooohow, that`s amazing!!! It seems that in the latter part `your love` is spiritual, or that you are not there but coming back. Or that both are longing for each other and the nature is the closest thing that your love can have and absorb to feel you near. I think…lol.
    Hey, that`s brilliant !!! Well done.
    In poetry there is no rules..that`s the way I see it anyway…Just right what comes to your head, like you do on your stories…There is poetry in them but you can`t see it, perhaps? lol.
    Smiles and love xx
    Joe

  3. joesoares says:

    `Yet, it is true, poetry is delicious; the best prose is that which is most full of poetry`.
    Virginia Woolf.
    That`s exactly what I mean!
    More smiles.
    Joe

  4. Thank you Joe,
    that’s so nice of you to say.

    There’s a lot of layers of meaning in this poem for me. When I wrote it, I was thinking of someone from my past, but also I was thinking about the story of Lover’s Leap from Starved Rock (there’s a picture above in the next post). Legend has it that an a boy and a girl from two different Indian tribes fell in love, but couldn’t marry, so they jumped off the cliff.

    I loved just as deeply. I did.

    Sometimes you don’t think you can carry on after certain partings. Sometimes, you don’t want to. There’s not a good enough reason to. But…you find it in you to carry on.

    So I put my feelings into poetry…where at least they can be immortalized, you know?

    Yes, the latter part of the poem was something spiritual, whether it be spiritual connection to a person, or spiritual connection with God. Because God is said to be everywhere.

    But if you carry love in your heart for someone, then you carry that person everywhere too. Maybe they can’t be with you because of circumstance, or they died. Your love for a person (and they for you) doesn’t die because they aren’t right in front of you…even though you might miss them terribly. They live on in your heart. And sometimes the external signs COULD be signs from the person you love, too.

    At least that’s what I like to believe.

  5. As far as the poetry in prose…

    It wasn’t always that way. My writing has been evolving for a few years now but more love goes into what I write these days. I’m finding I like it so much better when I do. I learned a little bit more about how to do that from Paulo Coelho and my reading of Clarissa Pinkola Estes’ (who both helped me be a little more courageous), from Anais Nin who wrote such beautiful lyrical prose (even if her diaries were a little embellished from what I’ve learned about her), and Rainer Maria Rilke’s love letters to Lou Andreas Salome (such wonderful stuff).

    And, Joe, you are the first real poet I’ve been in conversation with. And you write with such beautiful imagery. I guess you can say I’m very impressed…and delighted. And it’s been fun to expand into poetry and you’ve inspired and encouraged me, so thank you for that.

    It’s something that I’ve been wanting to do for a long time. Sometimes fragments of something poetical come to mind…but not so easily. I hope as I practice, it gets better.

    I am very happy to have ‘met’ you Joe. Thank you so much for influencing me in such a wonderful way.

    Much love and smiles back to you. xo

    And now it’s very late here…1:45 am…so I will dream a little dream of…(what else?) Love.

  6. g33kdad says:

    Beautiful words. Beautiful thoughts.

    I hope someone will think of me so fondly… Perhaps someday.

  7. Husband –

    Don’t fret, I do think of you so fondly. I thought you would feel it in the way I touch you. It’s there, even if it’s not in words (yet).

    You and I have come through so much in the past few years. What needs to happen is that I need to bless my difficult and painful experiences, the ones that make me who I am today.

    Your poem is coming too. There’s just 17 years of memories, both happy and tragic, that I have not yet sifted through and understood yet. It’s hard to put into words what fire we’ve walked through.

    It’s only been three months…to the day, you know. It has taken me a LOT of time, to be able to be able to bless the experience the above poem refers to.

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

