There are times I wish I could paint

I’m going through the photos of yesterdays trip to the canyon – no not the Grand Canyon, just a little canyon area in Illinois – and I’m selecting the ones I will publish on the blog.

My heart just skipped a beat when I came across one.

I’ve seen photorealistic paintings before, but very rarely do I see a photograph look almost as good as a painting.

Photobucket

This is the kind of photograph I ache to paint.  I just wouldn’t know how to even begin.

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in photography. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to There are times I wish I could paint

  1. Jim Cantwell says:

    I wish I could paint too, I would be happy with just being able to sketch the best I can do is draw for hangman 😉

  2. That made me smile.

    I am able to doodle a little bit…and mix colors for mixed media backgrounds…but draw and/or paint, no. I’m always a little wistful when I see drawings and paintings I really love. When I was a child, I could draw a little, and my mother said she’d send me to art classes, but somehow, never got around to it.

    I’m a little sad about that. I still would love to take a class, but now I’m a little shy about it.

  3. julienmatei says:

    If it aches to paint, “how” is superfluous. You will just do it.

    Grab some colors, and get started. Don´t think of the result. Estetically speaking. the outcome may be rather discouraging initially. Or not. It´s not the point.

    WHAT MATTERS is your feeling of seeing the colors melt. Of seeing your emotions being reflected…

  4. julienmatei says:

    For the record, I love this photo. Very well taken.

    You obviously have a sense of composition. Of balance.

    TRY… 😉

    • Casey says:

      Thanks so much for your appreciation and I’ll see what I can do about making the attempt.

      “You obviously have a sense of composition. Of balance.”

      Now if only I could achieve that balance internally. 😉

      • julienmatei says:

        This may sound like some kind of non sensic New Age rubbish but…

        That balance is who you are.

        But through wrong identification with the ego – the overall identification we were forced by parents, education and society to swallow through immemorial time – we have totally lost this connection, this vivid insight as to who we are.

        We can retrieve it though deactivating the ego. Deconstruct it, which is a hell of a job…

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

