Spring has sprung

The two youngest daughters and I went for a walk around the block today with our camera to take pictures of the early spring flowers.

Enjoy

1.

Photobucket

2.

Photobucket

3.

Photobucket

4.

Photobucket

5.

Photobucket

6.

Photobucket

7.  (that’s a hawk that flew into a tree in front of us.  he didn’t stay long)

Photobucket

8.

Photobucket

9.

Photobucket

10.
Photobucket

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Birds, Flowers, photography. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spring has sprung

  1. joesoares says:

    Amazing photos..Beautiful.I am pleased that you also find time for family and enjoy the nature..
    Good stuff,
    Love and joy.
    Joe.

  2. Thank you Joe.

    I love this world of ours…the surprises Mother Nature has in store for us…just around the corner. There is so much beauty in a cluster of flowers that it sometimes just amazes me. People come and go in my neighborhood, but I never see anyone else getting a close up look at the flowers. I am pretty bold, taking my camera right up to their houses to get a pleasing shot.

    Every year, the plantings are different. I see something new each spring. I take my daughters on ‘nature walks’ all the time…with the purpose of seeing what there is to be seen. People walk or jog for the purpose of exercise and get a broad view of the environment, but I am not sure many people take a walk to observe things close-up. It’s a totally different and stunning perspective.

    When I worked, I was gone from 6:30 in the morning until about 6 pm at night. I would come home, exhausted. I was an alien to my own neighborhood because I never really had the energy to explore. Part of my commute involved walking 9 blocks, so when I got home, I was tuckered out…then there was dinner to be made, and nighttime fell before I ever got the chance to see what was right here all the time.

    Sometimes I can’t get enough of this experience – I go out and take pictures with the seasons. I go out to forest preserves and gardens.

    The American culture is kind of…well…unhealthy in their lifestyles. The powers that be are swiftly paving paradise and putting up more shopping malls, more restaurants. It’s a struggle to understand why. We don’t need more of that. Americans are already a little bit bloated with the excesses of material things.

    I wish I could expatriate to somewhere else that is in better alignment with my values…but that would mean uprooting my daughters.

    Anyway, I didn’t mean to go on about this…it’s just one of those things that I want my daughters to take note of…the beauty that surrounds us (well, for however long it lasts).

    Much joy back to you.

    Casey

  3. joesoares says:

    Yeah, I get you!!..Just do that and share. there is so much beauty in all we do within nature.Good for the soul.A breath of fresh air , literally. LOL.
    Enjoy,life is precious!!

  4. Casey says:

    Reblogged this on The Sprightly Writer and commented:

    I have insomnia tonight. I laid in bed thinking of these flowers and trees in these photos from a few years back, so I thought I’d get up and look at them and share them again.

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

