I think it’s time to lose the guilt for our creative hobbies.

I’m reprinting this post here from another one of my blogs, because I think it applies well in both places.

I plan to talk more about creativity on this blog and this is one of the things that has recently come up for me.  I think about my experiences that have shaped me, and I do believe that one of the greatest gifts I have come to receive is deep self-acceptance for the things I have done and the things I hope to do in the rest of my life, most central to that is living more creatively.

Like that radical spiritual leader Osho states

A really spiritual person will live life as an art, will create a deep harmony between the body and the consciousness. And this is the greatest art there is. His life will be a joy to see. And he will be fragrant, for the sheer reason that there is no split in his being. The very unity makes him organic; the wound of division is healed.

For me, living spiritually includes artistic and creative expression, but for the longest time, I denied that part of my self because it was seldom seen as worthwhile.  It took me a long time and a lot of mistakes to realize living whole meant accepting all of who I am, not just analytical but deeply creative too.

I wrote the following after reading a blog post from someone who talked about having guilt for creative hobbies.  I think it’s another one of those blessings of early childhood we’ve been conditioned out of and it’s really doing us a disservice.

***
I didn’t have any hobbies as a child. Mostly reading and living in my imagination and trying to stay out of the way of my family.

After high school and all the way through college, I worked part time, and didn’t have time for hobbies, unless you count writing letters to friends. I had a few pen-pals. I had some friends I hung out with. Dated a little bit. Went dancing with my girl friends.

After college I worked full-time in microbiology and I took some grad-level classes, and I still didn’t have any hobbies. I worked, went out with co-workers after work. I didn’t have the time, nor really any knowledge or talent to pursue creative things, though I frequently wish I did. Same thing after two more job changes – in forensics and medical genetics. Other than writing occasionally, my work really challenged me so all I wanted to do when I was off work was relax and spend time with friends (who most often were my colleagues) and later, my husband.

After I came home to be with my daughters, that’s when I started creative hobbies. I taught myself to use a sewing machine and hand embroider. Turns out I had a knack for making creative things. I made handmade toys for a while and some blankets. I then turned to writing and then to photography. Then I just recently got started with art journaling. I have done a LOT of science experiments over the years with my girls using household items as much as possible (not just because I was a cheapskate, but because it was more of a creative challenge to recycle).

And of course, I’m still reading.  Which has helped me in the area of raising my daughters.

I used to feel guilty about my hobbies, until over the years I realized it’s the creative effort that goes into my hobbies that energizes me, reduces my feelings of isolation (sure, there are people around…just not many I care to be close to because they are dripping superficiality) and depression (leaving a highly technical field for the undervalued role of stay at home motherhood takes courage and creativity and stamina I did not always have).  Creative work slows down an over-active mind and it’s meditative. I believe it’s actually crucial to our mental and physical health to have creative outlets. Not surprisingly, chronic, unrelieved stress can cause a host of medical problems. For me, this translates into an autoimmune disorder of the thyroid, called Hashimoto’s thyroiditis, which has genetic origins, but is triggered by stress (various kinds of work and general life stress).

That creativity spills over into other areas too. It helps us think outside of the box in other ways (at school and at work).  It lubricates the brain and keeps us innovative, and brings together skill and knowledge from more than one area.    Any time I do a sewing project, I need to use math skills to get my measurements right the first time.

It’s only social conditioning that makes us feel guilty. Human beings are creators. Those who are stifled in their desires to create are up for some serious stress.

My daughters take their own hobbies seriously because I do too. They share with me a love of reading and writing. They art journal too.

Photobucket

I like Nikola Tesla’s view of his mother. His mother was a traditional housewife. He spoke very highly of his mother, and credited his photographic memory and inventive genius to her. He wrote this about her (as written in Margaret Cheney’s Tesla: Man out of Time):

 An inventor of the first order and would, I believe, have achieved great things had she not been so remote from modern life and its multifold opportunities. She invented and constructed all kinds of tools and devices and wove the finest designs from thread which was spun by her. She even planted the seeds, raised the plants, and separated the fibers herself. She worked indefatigably, from break of day till late at night, and most of the wearing apparel and furnishings of the home was the product of her hands.

So, these things, like sewing and knitting and gardening and what not, are now considered hobbies (because why make anything from hand now that anything you need can be purchased)…but once upon a time, these things were absolutely vital to survival.

I think if more people had creative hobbies and took their hobbies seriously, there would be a lot fewer unhappy, stressed-out people in the world.  [A lot fewer unhealthy addictions I would add].

As I read the troubles of the world I can’t help but think what would happen if they would only take If only people would make creative expression a priority, and not a frivolous waste of time…if people would “make art, not war”, how much better the world would be

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Creating, Creativity, Nikola Tesla, Personal growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I think it’s time to lose the guilt for our creative hobbies.

  1. Casey says:

    Reblogged this on The Sprightly Writer and commented:

    Just a quick reblog of one of my older posts on guilt and creativity.

  2. Lately I’ve also been thinking of why people blog (a creative hobby if ever there was one) but there’s a sense in which it really doesn’t matter. Our creative hobbies don’t need any justification beyond the fact that they are creative and we enjoy doing them, just like art does not need any justification beyond the fact that it is art.

    • Casey says:

      I agree, creative hobbies don’t need justification, but many people still do struggle with a sense of guilt for taking time away from obligations to do something fun and creative.

      I think for a some people, if creativity and hobbies weren’t encouraged as a child, or worse, actively discouraged, people grow up with a sense of guilt.

      Sometimes, it’s a spouse who discourages the hobbies.

      Sometimes, mothers feel solely responsible for the upkeep of the home and the care of the children that to take some time out for creative efforts are guilt-inducing.

      My mother and sisters would always say things to me about how I should be living my life – usually perpetuating the stereotype that women should be doing all the cooking and cleaning and childcare – which impacted my own sense of guilt whenever I took time to do something creative. That was in the early days, though.

      Now, I make time for my creative hobbies (especially photography or artwork more so than writing). because it brings me a deep sense of peace and it gratifies me on a deep level.

      It’s funny, because now, when I don’t create art for a while, I feel a sense that something isn’t quite right. And then I realize, I haven’t attended to that need.

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

