Splash of Color – Fall at the University

Yesterday, I walked down this street after spending some time at my old haunt.

The University is resplendent in fall.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Music from a grand piano emanated from the lower center windows.  I stopped for a few minutes to let the music wash over me.

Photobucket

Photobucket

On the Midway Plaisance.

Photobucket

Not bad considering these were taken from my camera phone.

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in photography. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Splash of Color – Fall at the University

  1. Phil says:

    There is something about a college campus that energizes me. I always feel an increased level of excitement and wonder, that here is a sanctuary that keeps sacred the flame for discovery and growth. There is my corny thought for the day…

    Nice pictures, even if they were from your phone. Just think about that last sentence – a mere 20 years ago that would not made a lick of sense.

  2. Hmmm…

    “Just think about that last sentence – a mere 20 years ago that would not made a lick of sense.”

    I’m thinking about licks…not phones. What an interesting phrase, “lick of sense”. I’ve heard it before…but it strikes me as odd seeing it in print.

    Anyway…

    Corny thought or not, I’d have to agree. Something just calls to me every time I’m there. My grandfather took me there to the law library as a child and when I was there, I remember eating lunch out on the quads behind that building in the picture, going to dinner parties with some of the department heads (my family is long tied to the University so I’ve been to a few).

    Since it was built in 1890, I just feel it ooze with history. I prefer the gothic architecture, but now, more sleek buildings are being sandwiched in between. I’m not so sure I like it, but that’s progress for you.

  3. yen says:

    Beautiful images considering the fact that you were using a camera phone. You showed the different sides and character of the campus. I especially liked the last one.

  4. Yen,

    Thank you.

    I have to say, I was a little surprised at how well they turned out for a camera phone. This camera phone takes terrible indoor shots, but outdoor shots on a sunny day seems to be no problem.

    Have a great day!

    Casey

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

