A midsummer night’s dream

A midsummer night’s dream.
That’s what it was.

You came in to my world
all glittering and sparkling.

Your enthusiasm was contagious.

I got infected with the germ of
your exuberance.

And ever since I’ve been
delirious.

You showed me the best of you.
And the worst of you, too.

You came in like a lamb and left like a lion.

Everything I thought I knew
changed overnight.

It helps me to think of that tempestuous
night as nothing more than a

Midsummer night’s dream

That’s taken a while
to interpret.

*******

Copyright 2011 Casey @The Sprightly Writer

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A midsummer night’s dream

  1. joesoares says:

    Great stuff!! I just started to be here , as you may know by now.
    I love poetry and do some sometimes. Just posted 2 on my blog and will post more in the future.
    I would appreciate all your comments. Because I am a bit `mad`, you know..lol.
    You should do more poems.
    Love and smiles.
    Joe

  2. Joe –

    I am just learning how to be expressive in poetry and it’s really difficult for me. I feel so much wanting to come out…but it’s difficult to get the feelings out in words that sound beautiful in a poem.

    Sometimes I do get inspired and something interesting comes out. I hope, with practice, it will get easier.

    I will take a look at your poems and let you know what I think.

    I’m smiling, and I sure do feel the love,

    Thank you.

    Casey

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

