A little bit of art – watercolor fun

After the darkness of the last post, I thought I’d brighten things up a bit.

One of my new obsessions hobbies is art journaling.  I’m new at it, quite terrible at drawing, but the great part about art journaling is that it’s not really about the product, but about the process.

When the Border’s bookstore by me was closing, they had been clearancing their stock of Moleskin journals.  I found out that not only did they make lined journals, but sketchbooks and these wonderful little Moleskin mini-water color pocket sized notebooks.  I grabbed their last one.

I love mine.  It’s a small size, perfect for those of us intimidated by filling a large white page, and it’s wonderfully portable.  I bring along watercolor pencils (I have both Stadtler Karat and Derwent Inktense) and a waterbrush (a plastic brush with a reservoir for holding water).

Here’s what it looks like (I put regular old colored pencils for color and scale in this shot with the nifty waterbrush in front).

Photobucket

Right now, I’m just playing around with color, mostly. It’s relaxing, enjoyable, and helps me to just turn off the analytical side of my brain.  I started this one at Starbucks one day while listening to a nursing student prattle on about trying to find employment and complaining about a fellow student.  I finished it up while I was sitting on a park bench when my daughters were playing at a park.
Photobucket

I did this one while IMing a friend one night. Yeah, sometimes there are long pauses on the other side of the screen, so I filled up the still moments with this doodle. It’s supposed to kind of be a mandala, but it really isn’t all that symmetrical like it’s supposed to be. I think I got the idea from Daisy Yellow. I can’t now FIND where I found it…she’s got so many great doodles.  I’ll give her the credit anyway.

And yes, I need more practice, but hey, not bad seeing how my attention was split between screen and pencil.

Photobucket
Most times I have no idea what I’m going to do.  I just pick up a pencil color and let my mind go where it wants.

Photobucket

Sometimes I just slap some color down without any plan in mind, but then later add some ‘reminders’ to myself.

Photobucket

The “It’s not your fault” is actually a line from Awolnation’s “It’s not your fault” song with the line, “Baby when I’m yelling at you, it’s not your fault, it’s not your fault”.  It popped into my head when I was trying to figure out what to write.  Dear Husband is a new Awolnation fanatic and he listens to their stuff all the time.  I have to admit, I like their lyrics too.

Yeah, I can get a little hot-tempered when I argue.

I have another colorful little page with a little bit of venom dripping off my pen that’s not suitable for publishing…that’s one great thing to do with art journaling – get anger out constructively so that you can meet your loved ones in a calmer state of mind.  It works for me.

I heard this quote somewhere in my online travels…

Sometimes you write to remember, but sometimes you write to forget.

The next thing I’m going to try is writing some negative things out in watercolor pencil, but then use the waterbrush to erase those darker thoughts I don’t want to remember.

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Art Journaling, Creativity, Doodles. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A little bit of art – watercolor fun

  1. Phil says:

    Remember to breathe… Good advice.

    I like your idea of letting those negative thoughts exit your mind and then washing them clean with watercolor.

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

