How we spent 9-11

Where we were that day:

I was 6 months pregnant with my first daughter, working in a hospital genetics laboratory in Chicago.  My husband was laid off and at home.  I got a phone call from him when the first plane hit, before anyone in my lab had heard anything.

He called after the first plane hit, but then said the media reported it was an accident.  He wasn’t too concerned for me.  I hung up the phone and turned to tell my colleagues.  We were talking about it and then it quickly spread through the other sections.

My husband soon called back to tell me about the second plane and was anxious to have  to come home, because by then they knew it wasn’t an accident and that they were probably targeting other cities.   I told him that even though I didn’t like being apart from him, I was in the best place I could be if a terror attack hit our city: a hospital.  I told him I would stay until they told us to go home.  I really did not relish the idea of coming home on the train…even though it was the only option I had…because that may have been a target too.

But as I hung up the phone that second time, I remember thinking, if I had to die that day, at least I knew what it was like to have gotten pregnant and feel my babies kicks and pokes.  I cradled my swollen belly and was grateful that even if I had to die, I was not truly alone.  I felt incredibly comforted by that thought.

Our oldest is 9 years and 9 months old.  In a few days, our middle daughter will be 8.  Our youngest, 6.5.

How we spent the 10 year anniversary of 9-11:

Walking free.

Photobucket

Feeling grateful.

Photobucket

Feeling curious.

Photobucket

Feeling alive.

Photobucket

Feeling amazed.

Photobucket

Feeling exuberant.

Photobucket

Feeling connected to life.

Photobucket

Feeling hopeful.

Photobucket

Feeling peaceful.

Photobucket

How was your day?

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in photography. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How we spent 9-11

  1. Phil says:

    Once again, those are spectacular photos! Beautiful.

    For me, the morning was a pensive one, as I reflected on a friend who perished on 9/11. Then it quickly brightened as we spent some time with family and friends for a nice breakfast. Football season began today, and we had a group of friends over for a huge afternoon celebration of our beloved Ravens kicking the snot out of Pittsburgh. 🙂 And it ended with more sports, with me coaching in a fall basketball league for High School Varsity basketball players, as they get in shape for their regular season that starts in November. All in all, a good day – thanks for asking…

  2. Thank you and you’re welcome, Phil.

    I love photography, and I think even better than most anything I could ever write.

    I read your blog post…hadn’t yet commented on it. Because of the details you wrote about, I decided to add a ‘what we were doing’ then.

    I’m so sorry you lost a friend in the attack. No wonder you were so pensive. I’m not sad to hear that you’d moved out of New York long before then.

    I’m glad you were able to spend some time having some fun with friends.

    Earlier in the day, we went to my nephew’s first soccer game. They won. It was cool.

  3. Phil says:

    Thank you for sharing your own personal story as well. I never tire of listening to what people were doing and what was going through their minds at the time. So unique and different with each person, yet a totally shared experience.

  4. Mr. RSG says:

    Phil – You mentioned hearing other stories…
    Here’s a link to an post on one of the sites I visit a lot – It has a few stories from Story Corps from 9/11 victim family/friends. I don’t have full details, but my (brief and incomplete) impression is that people go to Story Corp to tell their stories to make sure the stories never die. The stories are recorded and archived – some get an additional touch of having an animated video created to go along with the story. [Warning: you may not want to watch if you’re already a bit down….]
    http://www.mentalfloss.com/blogs/archives/99737

    • Phil says:

      Thanks for providing the link Mr. RSG. I’m not a sad person by nature. Maybe I’m just a little bit pensive on this day. I think sites like the one you’ve listed are both informative and restorative in nature, like threads in a fabric held together, although I can certainly understand how folks would need to be in the right frame of mind emotionally to read through.

  5. Dear husband, thanks for posting the link.

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

