Sun and city

We took the girls to the city this Labor Day.  Middle daughter’s birthday is coming up and we took the girls to the American Girl store and bought her a Kanani doll.  She loved the doll, I loved the great photo opportunities.

I’ve always loved the building housing the Illinois Institute of Technology.   Here’s an out of the window shot I took while we drove into the city.  I almost wish I hadn’t looked up their website, then I wouldn’t have discovered they offer Master’s and Ph.D. programs in the biosciences.  It was once a dream I’d have my Ph.D. someday.

Photobucket

It was a beautiful day, a little chilly, but sunny and bright.

I snapped a photo of Buckingham Fountain from the passenger seat of the car. Not too bad considering it was out the driver’s side window.  You know, normally, it’s difficult to get the right look when buildings are in the background, but I think this looks good with the background buildings.  I like the slender, shiny skyscraper off to the left and the red one off to the right of the fountain.

Photobucket

I had husband drop us off outside the Museum of Contemporary Art. It has a very plain and gray facade, but I thought I’d brighten it up with my youngest daughter.

Photobucket

Husband parked at the Drake Hotel, north of Water Tower Place. So we got the chance to walk past another famous landmark – the Hancock building. I’ve lived near the windy city most of my life and have NEVER even walked past the building.

I love the rays of sun in this shot and the black building against the bright blue sky.

Photobucket

Husband was thirsty, so we headed down to the Jamba Juice.  I love the semi-circular staircase.  Middle daughter is holding Kanani down at the bottom of the steps in front of me, and oldest daughter and youngest daughter are by the railing of the circular staircase.

Photobucket

It was a good outing, and I think about our fourth trip to the big city.  I don’t ever recall visiting the city as a child, and I’m really glad I get the opportunity to more and more now that the girls are older and seem to tolerate it well.

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Chicago, photography. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sun and city

  1. Phil says:

    Wow! The pictures of the city are spectacular. Great eye for framing the shot and capturing the urban beauty of those buildings. Looks like a crystal clear day with beautiful skies. Also sounds like a fun experience for the girls. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Thanks Phil.

    I am not so sure that it’s a great eye as much as it is just magic. For instance…I had two opportunities to snap the Buckingham Fountain while we were stopped for a light. I was in the passenger seat and it was out husband’s driver side window. I had a few seconds to set up the camera. The first one ended up boring, this one turned out great.

    I took a few angles of the Hancock. Two-ho hum boring shots because clouds covered the sun. This one was just perfect. I didn’t set about framing it at all. It just happens.

    See? All I can say is that it is just magic.

  3. chuckcotton says:

    nice shot up the side of the building. what kind of camera/lens did you use?

  4. Nothing too out there.

    It’s a Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ28. A 10.1-Megapixel digital camera with 27mm Wide-Angle and 18x Optical Zoom Lens.

    If I actually knew what I was doing, I could actually be dangerous.

    It’s a decent first digital camera.

    Here is a review with the picture of it.

    http://www.cameralabs.com/reviews/Panasonic_Lumix_DMC_FZ28/

    It does great decent macro photography without having to actually have the expense of an SLR.

    I have some examples here

    http://theexplorationstation.wordpress.com/2010/07/06/dragonflies-and-damselflies/

    On those, I also used Picasa3 to crop them.

  5. Great pictures, Casey. Thank you for sharing 🙂

  6. Mike-

    Thank you.

    I hope everything is okay, you haven’t posted on your blog in a while.

    All the best,

    Casey

    • Mike says:

      Casey,
      I’ve been (and still am) busy with preparations to wedding, so this is taking all my free time. I hope I will be back to blog activity in January.

      But I continue following your blog, and enjoying your words and pictures. Thank you 🙂

      • Oh, that’s good. Wedding planning is a great reason. I knew of a few bloggers that had stopped writing because of bad things that happened. Good to hear you are doing something exciting with your time.

        Best wishes on your upcoming nuptials!

        Casey.

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

