Art jounaling fun

I have a new obsession. I have decided that my hyperanalytical mode needs a break…so I decided to try art journaling for a new creative change.

What is art journaling? Daisy Yellow in her post Art Journaling 101 explains it well…

Art journaling is about the creative process of pulling together color, words and images as you wish on a page. Unlike many other forms of art, it is not about the outcome.

I have to agree, playing with paint, stamps, textures, words and images is a lot of fun. It’s about the process, NOT perfection. It’s a fun way to let one’s inner kindergartener come out and play.

I have to admit I have NOT done anything visually creative since I was like a kindergartner, so this stuff is pretty basic stuff.  Not at all like I’ve seen in places.

So for the past few weeks I’ve been having a little bit of fun with it…

1.  Practicing my doodling.

I actually had to look up “How to doodle” cause…well, I am not really a doodler.

I used watercolor crayons for this one.  Yes, I could activate the colors using water, but I decided I liked it this way.

Photobucket

Colored pencils.

Photobucket

I got some ideas from the Journal Fodder Junkies book on art journaling called The Journal Junkies Workshop: Visual Ammunition for the Art Addict by Eric Scott and David Modler.

A fine tip Pitt Pen and watercolor crayons on a scrumptious moleskin sketchbook.

Photobucket

2. Collage (aka cutting and pasting):
My homage to Hermann Hesse’s Steppenwolf  – I tried covering this page with gel medium, but it caused the watercolor paints to smear.  Oh well…process not perfection.
Photobucket

3.  Experimenting with textures, stencils and chalk, acrylics and watercolors
Photobucket

4.  Letting my inner child comfort me with some positive affirmations.

For as much writing I do on the blogs, I find writing the HARDEST to do when I art journal.  I have bad handwriting if I’m not careful.  I’m afraid of ruining the art.

This one is done with watercolors and a gesso wash, stamps, acrylic paint, and JellyRoll pens.

Photobucket

This was fun…and I plan to keep doing it.  I’d like to change the focus of this blog to incorporate more art journaling…so I’ll have to come up with a new blog name.

The great part of this is that I let my daughters ‘do art’ with me too and help me experiment with textures…

Photobucket

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Art jounaling fun

  1. Phil says:

    Rename the blog? I like the Sprightly part, so I hope you consider keeping that in the title. I’ll be curious to see what you come up with.

    So who had more fun, you or your daughters? 🙂

  2. Hmmm…I’m terrible with blog names…so I have no idea.

    I keep thinking of this… The Nut Haus.

    hahahahahaaha

    ahem…

    I dunno.

    I think we all had fun. I enjoy it because it shuts down the inner chatter in my head.

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

