Artist organizer

Sometime a while back I said I was planning on expanding my creative endeavors outside of writing and photography.  So I have begun…slowly.

I made an artist organizer after I’d seen something similar that a mom made for her child to keep him busy while out of the home.

I modified the pattern I’d found from Martha Stewart’s instructions, tripling the width instead of doubling it to make it have two sections for art pencils instead of one.  Instead of using oilcloth, I just used a patterned fabric and some heavy duty fabric stabilizer.

Photobucket

I decorated the front of the organizer with copper wire, beads, buttons, and layers of fabric.

 

Photobucket

The inside is lined with felt and it has 16 slots for pencils…some of which are sketching pencils, some of which are colored pencils.

It’s designed so that each pencil fits snugly and won’t fall out when in use.

I have charcoal pencils too, but am rather afraid they’ll mar the felt, and they will go in a separate container along with erasers and sharpeners.  I was hoping to make a totally self-contained organizer, but the erasers and sharpeners are too bulky.

Photobucket

The fabric pocket on the top left is embellished with an actual picture my friend and his daughter made.  I copied it to fabric printer sheets for inkjet printers and attached it with metal eyelets.  I thought it was a great little inspiring photograph.

I actually made it for my friend who likes to sketch sometimes, and perhaps I’ll be able to actually part with it and send it on to him.

Photobucket

And shush,  I KNOW the stitches aren’t completely straight.  Sometimes I my sewing gets a little wonky.

Well that’s pretty much it.

 

 

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Creating, Creativity. Bookmark the permalink.

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

