Music to Soothe the Soul

I adore Celtic Music.  I think the best I’ve heard (so far) has come from Celtic Woman.  It’s like listening to the music of angels.  I love that they have a full orchestra complementing them.

Siul a Run

Siuil, siuil, siul a run,
Siuil go sochair agus siuil go ciuin
Siuil go doras agus ealaigh lion

Siuil, siuil, siul a run,
Siuil go sochair agus siuil go ciuin
Siuil go doras agus ealaigh lion
Is go dte tu mo mhuirnin slan

I wish I was on yonder hill
‘Tis there I’d sit and cry my fill,
And every tear would turn a mill,
I’ll sell my rock, I’ll sell my reel,
I’ll sell my only spinning wheel,
To buy my love a sword of steel

Siuil, siuil, siul a run,
Siuil go sochair agus siuil go ciuin
Siuil go doras agus ealaigh lion
Is go dte tu mo mhuirnin slan

I’ll dye my petticoats, I’ll dye them red,
And ’round the world I’ll beg my bread,
Until my parents shall wish me dead,

Siuil, siuil, siul a run,
Siuil go sochair agus siuil go ciuin
Siuil go doras agus ealaigh lion
Is go dte tu mo mhuirnin slan

Siuil, siuil, siul a run,
Siuil go sochair agus siuil go ciuin
Siuil go doras agus ealaigh lion

Siuil, siuil, siul a run,
Siuil go sochair agus siuil go ciuin
Siuil go doras agus ealaigh lion
Is go dte tu mo mhuirnin slan

May It Be

May it be an evening star,
Shines down upon you.
May it be when darkness falls,
Your heart will be true.
You walk a lonely road;
Oh, how far you are from home….

Mornie utulie (darkness has come),
Believe and you will find your way.
Mornie alantie (darkness has fallen),
A promise lives within you now….

May it be the shadows call,
Will fly away.
May it be your journey on,
To light the day.
When the night is overcome,
You may rise to find the sun.

Mornie utulie (darkness has come),
Believe and you will find your way.
Mornie alantie (darkness has fallen),
A promise lives within you now….

A promise lives within you now….

Nella Fantasia (sung in Italian)

Nella fantasia io vedo un mondo giusto,
Li tutti vivono in pace e in onestà.
Io sogno d’anime che sono sempre libere,
Come le nuvole che volano,
Pien’ d’umanità in fondo all’anima.

Nella fantasia esiste un vento caldo,
Che soffia sulle città, come amico.
Io sogno d’anime che sono sempre libere,
Come le nuvole che volano,
Pien’ d’umanità in fondo all’anima.

English translation:

In my imagination I see a just world,
Everyone lives in peace and in honesty there.
I dream of souls that are always free,
Like the clouds that fly,
Full of humanity in the depths of the soul.

In my imagination there exists a warm wind,
That breathes on the cities, like a friend.
I dream of souls that are always free,
Like clouds that fly,
Full of humanity in the depths of the soul.

This one is just plain fun

Si Do Mhaimeo I – Wealthy Widow

[Chorus:]
‘Sí do mhaimeo í, ‘sí do mhaimeo í
‘Sí do mhaimeo í cailleach an airgid
‘Sí do mhaimeo í ó Bhail’ Iorrais Mhóir í
‘S chuir-feadh sí cóistí ‘r bhóithre Chois Fharraige

‘bhFeicfeása ‘n “steam” ‘ga’l siar Tóin Uí Loing’
‘S na rothaí gh’l timpeall siar óna ceathrúnaí
Caithfeadh sí’nstiúir naoi n-uair’ar a cúl
‘S ní choinneodh sí siúl le cailleach an airgid

[Chorus]

‘Measann tú ‘bpósfa, ‘measann tú ‘bpósfa
‘Measann tú ‘bpósfa cailleach an airgid?
Tá ‘s a’m nach ‘bpósfa, tá ‘s a’m nach ‘bpósfa
Mar tá sé ró-óg ‘gus dólfadh sé’n t-airgead

[Chorus]

‘S gairid go ‘bpósfa, ‘s gairid go ‘bpósfa
‘S gairid go ‘bpósfa beirt ar an mbaile seo
‘S gairid go ‘bpósfa, ‘s gairid go ‘bpósfa
Séan Shéamais Mhóir agus Máire Ní Chathasaigh
[Repeat]

[Chorus twice]

[English Translation:]

[Chorus:]
She’s your granny, she’s your granny
She’s your granny, the hag with the money
She’s your granny from the town of Iorrais Mór
And she would put coaches on the roads of Cois Farraige

If you’d see the steam boat going past Tóin Uí Loing’
And the wheels turning speedily at her flanks
She’d scatter the store nine times to the rear
But she never keeps pace with the hag with the money

[Chorus]

Do you reckon he’d marry, do you reckon he’d marry
Do you reckon he’d marry the hag with the money?
I know he’ll not marry, I know he’ll not marry
Because he’s too young and he’ll drink the money

[Chorus]

We’ll soon have a wedding, we’ll soon have a wedding
We’ll soon have a wedding by two in the village
We’ll soon have a wedding, we’ll soon have a wedding
Between Séan Séamais Mór and Máire Ní Chathasaigh
[Repeat]

[Chorus twice]

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Music, Sensory Delights. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Music to Soothe the Soul

  1. Phil says:

    I enjoyed your musical selections very much. Here are a few that I consider to be soothing as well. I’m particularly fond of Nocturnes by Chopin, and here’s one that is a favorite:

    If it’s a voice you might want, then consider this aria from sung exquisitely mellow by Elina Garanca:

    Not everyone likes classical, and there’s lots to choose from in the contemporary category – Armik for example playing the Spanish Guitar:

  2. Melody says:

    Now why didn’t you post that a few days sooner… I had a friend giving away Celtic Woman tickets in Chicago last weekend bc they couldn’t go!

  3. Ah rats!

    That’s okay, Melody. I was at a Young Author’s Conference with my oldest daughter.

    http://growinginpeace.wordpress.com/2011/04/19/young-authors-conference/

    I think I would have been totally wiped out.

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

