Julia Cameron on First Drafts

 

Freed to be rough, my writing actually became smoother.  Freed from the demand that it be instantly brilliant, perfect, and clever, my writing became not only smoother but also easier and more clear.  When I went back to polish, I found there wasn’t that much to fix or change.  A remarkable amount of my first-draft material withstood the test of later scrutiny.

I have learned that as far as writing goes, my logic brain is for second drafts.  My rich, fertile, whimsical brain is for laying track.

How much better to have a wild and somewhat unruly first draft, something that can be shaped and tamed, something so full of detail, it’s a question of what we want to leave in, not a question of what still needs to be added.

Julia Cameron’s, The Right to Write:

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Julia Cameron, writing tips and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

